My Christmas Prayer of Peace, Love and Understanding

25backwindow-1I wrote this prayer as a stream of consciousness 12 days ago into my Morning Pages Journal.  It just seemed appropriate to share it this day.

I pray for Lucy, for widows, orphans, those who are homeless or in prison, those who live in the shadow of war. For those who suffer hunger or thirst, for the sick, the helpless, the abused. I pray for those that suffer cold or heat, sickness, abuse. Those who suffer the agonies of the mind, the torments of the spirits and the loss of self, of God, of peace.

I pray for those who wander, who search, who gather. I pray for the weak, for the strong and for the boastful and brave.

Wonderous is our God. Wonderous deeds. Wonderous peace. Glorious thanksgiving and praise. Rejoice, rejoice, Emmanuel.

I wish you peace, I wish you beauty, I wish you hope and love and forgiveness. I wish you strength to endure the grievous challenges your life will bring you. I wish you happiness, I wish you a calm spirit. I wish you wisdom and a rebirth into the Love that God has waiting for you. I wish you forgiveness for those that turn their backs on you. I wish you safety. I wish you honesty.

Thank you, Father, for your gift of remembrance. Thank you, Jesus, for making me whole. Thank you, Holy Spirit, for your guidance and peace of understanding.

Send us now, into the world in peace, and grant us strength and courage to love and serve you with gladness and singleness of heart; through Christ our Lord.

The peace of God, which passes all understanding, keep your hearts and minds in the knowledge and love of God.

When I woke up this morning, I had the oddest song going through my mind. Elvis Costello and “. . .What’s so funny ’bout peace love & understanding? Ohhhh.  What’s so funny ’bout peace love & understanding?”

Merry Christmas to you. Happy birthday, Jesus. :O)

~ by Kimberly Mason on December 25, 2008.

One Response to “My Christmas Prayer of Peace, Love and Understanding”

  1. Beautiful prayer, Kim. I’ll be checking back. Your profile made me laugh out loud. Merry Christmas to you and Yours

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

