Making Time for What’s Important

I subscribe to Leo Babauta’s blog “Zen Habits.” Right click that link, open it up in another tab and spend some time looking through his site. I highly recommend it.

Just in time to stop me from heading off into another rant about how I can’t find enough time to get into my studio anymore, this post arrived in my inbox.

Sometimes we keep ourselves busy doing busywork so we don’t have to do the things we really want to do but are just to afraid that if we actually find the time to do them we’ll be horrible at it and hearts will break and everyone will know we are untalented or dorky or lame or stupid or weak or any number of embarrassing things that we don’t want people to know and that we especially don’t want to know about ourselves.

*deep breath*

Life has been pretty dang good and it’s getting better all the time. I have very little to complain about, and if I didn’t complain about anything that is actually worth complaining about around here all it would take would be for someone to sit my ass down inside a cardboard hut in a poor part of town in this nation or in any other country big or small, rich or poor, and it would shut my mouth right up.

Let’s find some time to play with the things we really want to be playing with and stop complaining.

What do you want to do more of? What could you give up to have it?

You don’t have to answer the questions here, just promise me you’ll think about them.

In Many Peaces,
Kim

P.S. The photo above is of a song sparrow that visited me this morning. The song sparrow’s tune was the first one that learned to identify. He would sit outside my window and sing his three note, six beat song for years before I ever found out who it was that was doing the singing. They are still one of my favorite birds — and one that I have yet to get a really stunning photo of. The song sparrow, the western scrub jay and the stellar’s jay have all eluded my fancy new lens.

~ by Kimberly Mason on February 22, 2011.

4 Responses to “Making Time for What’s Important”

  1. Love your little singer too my friend! :c)
    I’m sort of at a “stuck” place right now and need to take the time to figure out what will get me out of my rut. Good food for thought. Have a beautiful day.

  2. I sort of touch on this on my blog today. Sort of. I’m jealous of your lens.

  3. This has got me thinking quite a bit. I do a LOT of fluffing around – what am I avoiding (besides housework)? Hmmm…

    • LOL! Dear Sistah, I’ll do HOUSEWORK to avoid doing things that I need to be doing. Sometimes I’ll find myself with a broom in my hand and I have to stop and think, “Wow, I REALLY don’t want to (write that story – edit those photos and write those cutlines – read that book, etc).” If you see me dusting then you know I’m in TOTAL denial.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers

