Remember this Room?

And remember this quilt I was working on?

I barely see this room any more.

I know, I know, I keep saying I’m going to do something about that and I don’t. I get too caught up in other things — things that aren’t as important to me.

I’m human, we all do it. We all let something slip by that feeds our soul and allow things that don’t matter or won’t matter in six months take us over and invade our lives and take up space in our minds.

We allow time-fillers and busywork replace creativity and constructive play. We allow dusting to stand in the place of dreaming when we could be doing both at the same time. Talk about a great use of multi-tasking!

Where do you want to go that you aren’t going? What do you want to do that you aren’t doing? Who do you want to be that you are being? What aren’t you reaching for because you don’t have the time, the courage, the resources or the friend to do it with you? What is stopping you?

And don’t get me wrong, I don’t mean to imply that I think you’re lazy if you aren’t busy doing something wonderful every minute of the day. Maybe your dream is to lay around in bed all day and watch television. Well, if that’s your dream, go for it!

Honestly, though, if you are reading this blog then I’m willing to bet that you are a dynamically creative person whose very soul is fed by creating beauty. Whether it is a quilt, writing a poem or loving a dear friend, whatever your creative mood and mode of the moment is, all I ask is that you do it.

Just do it.

Yours, In Many Peaces of Love,
Kim

~ by Kimberly Mason on February 26, 2011.

6 Responses to “Remember this Room?”

  1. Danabug says I have been in stasis. It is as good a description as any. I enjoy the winter landscapes, love watching it snow, etc., but my brain and body are not happy with short, cold, often sunless days, and so I’ve struggled to bounce back from the tsunami of sadness that hit me over Christmas. My blog is therefore a bit like your room, kinda pretty to look at, but not much going on lately.

  2. For some reason yesterday, several blogs I visited asked the question… What are the dreams you have for your future? It made me sad to think that I don’t really identify any goals or dreams for my future. Yes, maybe it’s time to rediscover a passion for something?

  3. a lovely and spirited post – JUST what I needed to hear today, thank you! P.S. what kind of sewing machine do you use – the one ticked in the corner with that nice wide bed!

    • I have a Juki TL-98Q. The area under the harp is 9″ wide by 7″ tall. It only does a straight stitch, but it does it beautifully and at speeds of up to 1,500 stitches a minute. Wheeeeee! If I sit at someone else’s machine I tend to “floor it” and then end up frustrated at the pokey speed of their machines. :-P

      I adore my Juki. It also powers through any number of layers you can get under the (adjustable height) foot. I once sewed through the plastic flat head of a pin and the machine didn’t even hesitate. I didn’t discover that I had put two stitches through the plastic pin until I went to the ironing board.

      It is snowing here today, I am skipping church and heading into The Studio (aka the sewing room) as soon as it warms up in there. We are never prepared for temps much below 30 degrees around here — rain? yes, freezing? no.

      I’m sending my daughter the link to your blog. She has been an off and on recreational knitter for a couple of years now. Lately she has rediscovered the joy of knitting in a weekly group of older ladies (meaning ladies our age and up :-P ) and also there is a knitting tavern in the state capitol — where her boyfriend lives (near the capitol, not in the bar) — called the “Skep and Skein ” that she and her boyfriend visit every other weekend or so. How cool is that?

      Peace to you, my friend, you are still called to mind in my prayers, Kim

  4. Interesting that other blogs are asking the same question. I thought it was just me and there was something wrong with me. Of course, I attributed it to my age, but frankly, I believe that no matter what age your are, you should have goals, live life to its fullest. Somehow I don’t think I’ve been doing that lately. Thanks for asking the question, and making me more aware.

  5. I’m with Jayne – what DO I want to be doing? Hmmm. I know that I need to dust – which I assumed was the whole point of your post, to get me to dust :)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 41 other followers

