Join the Choir!

Join the choir! And if you can’t sing, join the bell choir! And if you can’t do that, then do SOMETHING with a group of others wanting to do SOMETHING together!

Being a part of the community it what life is all about. It’s what keeps you young. When you are working to help others you don’t have as much time to work on your own worries and troubles. And when you allow others to help you, you are giving them a gift as well.

The quilts pictured in this post were made as class examples for the “Sunshine and Flowers” class I taught this last Spring at Sugar n’ Spice in Morton. They were also a kind of Lenten Project that I took on for myself.

The Celtic Cross, above and to the left, is pretty self explanatory. The piece above it represents (starting from the top), Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. They are both owned by Linda Herrin, owner of  the Sugar n’ Spice quilt shop in Morton.

The quilt to the right remains in my private collection. I am very attached to it. I wish I had a better camera so I could do the colors justice. The purples and sea blues are beautiful.

The unfinished banner, to the left, I intended to have finished by Easter morning…but I just couldn’t seem to get the angel’s hand right. But the other morning at church I noticed that Father T. was holding up three fingers for the blessing instead of the two fingers that I was trying to portray. So I’ve brought this quilt top out again so I can give it another try.

Unlike the quietly serene colors of the quilts above, this quilt is jarringly joyous in its colors. While I was working on this quilt, I was very worried that I had chosen colors that would be much too bold for our quietly conservative church. HA! Was I ever wrong! When I arrived on Easter morning for my first Easter at St. Timothy’s, I was greeted by a huge riot of color in the massive display of flowers the Altar Guild Ladies had artfully arranged.

“Know the true value of time; snatch, seize and enjoy every moment of it. No idleness…never put off till tomorrow what you can do today.” – Lord Chesterfield

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 10, 2008.

One Response to “Join the Choir!”

  1. I love these quilts! I see you like bold colors like I do. Your other pices are really nice too…and I love the tagline under your blog title – isn’t that the truth? Thanks for commenting on my blog…I’m glad to have “met” you!

Leave a Reply

 
