Pavement Pilot

I made this quilt in April of 2006. It is Quilt #3 in the “Come Fly With Me” series and is called “Taking the Red-Eye Home”, in honor of my favorite Pavement Pilot (Truck Driver), aka M.E., aka Big Man, aka Dearest Marty. It is 28″ x 22″.

I really like it. I wish I was a better photographer (I’m working on that!), because the quilt really IS squared up and even…well, where it is SUPPOSED to be, anyways. One thing I did get right with my photo – it really DOES sort of glow.

The “Come Fly With Me” series was inspired from the book Thinking Outside the Block: Step by Step to Dynamic Quilts by Sandi Cummings with Karen Flamme. I highly recommend their book, it’s full of very instructive exercises.

My Dearest Marty is on his way home from California today. He says that the air quality is pretty bad. Our hearts go out to all those fighting the fires and all those affected. I can’t even imagine…

“Life is not the way it is supposed to be. It is the way it is. The way you cope with it is what makes the difference.” -Virginia Satir

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
