Crop Dusting Helicopter

My next door neighbor on two sides is a tree farm. Now you would think that a bunch of trees would make for very quiet neighbors – not so! Those trees have some pretty noisy visitors – helicopters! Yesterday they were using the helicopters as crop dusters, in the Fall they are used to pick up the harvested trees and place them on the back of the delivery trucks. Come November, you hear a near constant “hum” of helicopters throughout Lewis County.

I’m just like a little kid when it comes to helicopters. I hear a helicopter and I have to run outside and see what’s going on. In fact, if it flies in the skies and it’s flying overhead making a big noise, you can bet I’m outside watching it go by.

We have army jets that make low, fast runs through our area about once a day. You have to be quick to spot them, because once you hear them, they’re nearly gone. My dearest Marty says that he wants to be a jet pilot in his next life, – don’t guess he’d let me be his navigator, I’d get us lost every time. LOL

I come by this love of flying objects pretty honestly – my dad’s a pilot. Retired Lt. Col., USAF, also retired from United Air Lines AND now he is onto his third career as the manager of the Toledo Airport. Gee, can you tell I’m a bit proud of my Dad?

“Far away in the sunshine are my highest inspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see the beauty, believe in them and try to follow where they lead.” –Louisa May Alcott

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
