Listening to my muse, er, son…

I struggled with the layout of this quilt nearly all day yesterday. I’d sew a little, rearrange a lot. Sew a little more, rearrange a lot more. If you are a quilter, you know what I’m talking about.

I have had these hexagon kaleidoscope blocks laid out on my design wall for several days now. Shane, my youngest and dearest, is an artist too – though his medium is music. He commented on my quilt blocks the other day by saying, “Mom, it looks like a carnival blew up.”

Hmmm, yes, I could see what he was talking about. And even though he said that he meant it as a compliment, I wasn’t too happy about it…maybe it was because in my mind I heard “it looks like a carnival THREW up.” ;o)

And then yesterday, he told me that he thought I needed to get the blocks arranged in some sort of order or theme. So then I grouped them by color – sort of, well, as well as I could with my hexagon carnival. But it still wasn’t working.

Then late last night he said, “Mom, you are working WAY too hard at this.” Wow. Is he a genius, or what?!! So I took that as a hint to put down my scissors and go to bed.

This morning I woke up, made my coffee, fed the dogs, I rearranged my design board in about 2 minutes, and, wha-la (how do you spell that???), I love it!

I’m calling it Hexagon Stars or “I Believe in Flying Saucers.”

“A ship in port is safe, but that’s not what ships are built for.” –Grace Murray Hopper

~ by Kimberly Mason on July 17, 2008.

One Response to “Listening to my muse, er, son…”

  1. I Love it! This is what I wanted to make…I don’t want traditional blocks with my hexegons and I’m thinking about even adding some star to it…wondered how to make it come all together…looks like your son was a big helP….

Leave a Reply

 
