the ARTIST’S WAY

I embarked on a twelve week journey this morning, with the ARTIST’S WAY by Julia Cameron as my guidebook. The book promotes itself as a “Course in Discovering and Recovering Your Creative Self” and a “Spiritual Path to Higher Creativity.” From what I have heard from other artists, the book lives up to its hype.

There were a series of circumstances that led me to the purchase of the book. One of those circumstances included shopping at Sister’s Fabric Shop and not being able to find a SINGLE fabric to purchase! How weird is THAT?? 10,000 bolts of fabric! But if I had bought fabric I would not have had the money to buy the book in the Book n’ Brush down the street. As Linda (Sugar n’ Spice) and I have had to agree lately: there are no coincidences!

AND, speaking of coincidences, yesterday I purchased fabric for a new purse on an impulse while attending the regular Spice Girls meeting at Sugar n’ Spice. I bought from the “Western Washington Shop Hop 2008” line from In The Beginning fabrics, and what do you know? Those fabrics go PERFECTLY with my new Nike Air Moire shoes I purchased at the Nike outlet that very afternoon. This is the second pair of Nike Air Moire I have owned and I LOVE them!

“Inside you there’s an artist you don’t know about. . . . Say yes quickly, if you know, if you’ve known it from before the beginning of the universe.” -Jalai ud-Din Rumi

“Man’s mind, once stretched by a new idea, never regains its original dimensions.” – Oliver Wendell Holmes Jr.

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 1, 2008.

2 Responses to “the ARTIST’S WAY”

  1. I just discovered your blog and I will be back. I love the quotes and your whole way of writing. You are inspiring!
    Robin

  2. […] Way. I use the word “attempt” not because I didn’t complete my journey the last time, but because I know that I have changed. And because I have changed, my next journey will be […]

Leave a Reply

 
