One Year Ago, Today, I Quit Smoking

My anniversary! One year ago today I quit smoking. Not a puff, not a drag, not a sniff since. Actually, I’ve sniffed. But I haven’t liked it!

January of 2007 my Marty had a heart attack. What a wake up call! Time to straighten up and fly right. Diet. Exercise. Moderation. Motivation. Cessation of self-abusive behavior. ALL that good stuff.

I have to admit, Marty was always a couple of months ahead of me in every lifestyle change. I was always willing to jump on the band wagon with him. In fact, I was pretty good at telling HIM what wagon to jump on and just how to do it. I was just a little slower at following my own advice. My legs are much shorter. What can I say?

How did we quit smoking? We read a book by Allen Carr. Yup, just read a book. Actually, to be honest, yet again, I had to read the book TWICE. But it worked!

So, today I am eating pizza and cookies and milk. Seriously! Cookies. Milk. Pizza. The Holy Trinity of Numminess. Hooray for me!

If you let your head get too big it’ll break your neck. – Elvis Presley

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 9, 2008.

2 Responses to “One Year Ago, Today, I Quit Smoking”

  1. Congratulations! I am on day one 9/16/08 with Allen Carr. I love your blog intro. Good luck with blogging. Angela

  2. The best of luck to you, Angela, and CONGRATULATIONS for taking the step! Thank you for your good wishes.

Leave a Reply

 
