Mystery Quilt Mystery Continues…

I still haven’t been able to identify the origin of the pattern of this quilt (more pictures). Maybe it will have to remain a mystery. Maybe the origin of the pattern was the quilt maker.

I have one of the linens she embroidered (pictured at right). It is a dresser scarf, the same scene is embroidered at each end. The picture cannot even begin to do this beautiful piece any justice. It takes my breath away. The linen material is of the finest quality. The colors were well chosen, the stitches fine. The scene so artfully arranged. I feel good just looking at it, peaceful and happy.

In examining the back of her quilt this morning, I noticed that there is a set of four blocks with drawings on the back of the fabric. It looks to me like a drawing that one would make on paper in preparation to create Battenberg lace. Perhaps this fabric was laying on a table underneath some pattern tracing paper and was accidentally marked?

Her embroidery work is so perfect, so artistic – but her skill at quilt making, uh, not so much. I wonder if she didn’t just “dabble” in quilt making. Piece together this quilt top – by sewing machine, not by hand – and then abandon the project out of frustration. Her seam allowances are uneven, and are pressed haphazardly.

All of the solid color fabrics (including the white) are high quality cotton sateens, as are many of the print fabrics. She sewed her blocks into sets of four of the same color way, the outside rows contain sets of two.

Remember, we all stumble, every one of us. That’s why it’s a comfort to go hand in hand. – Emily Kimbrough

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 11, 2008.

One Response to “Mystery Quilt Mystery Continues…”

  1. Kim, I’ve happened up on your blog as I look for quilters nearby. Keep writing, good thoughts….I’ve also dug out my book – the Artist’s Way to begin my journey with your suggestion. Thanks,

Leave a Reply

 
