Red, White, and Blue Show-n-Tell

I made the Scrap Flag quilt (left) for Marty to use in the sleeper bunk of his truck. It was made in August of 2005 and was the first quilt I had made after more than 10 years away from the quilting game. It shows a lot of wear (or should I say, it has been well loved) and Marty says he is ready for me to finish his Florida Gators quilt (at right). We’ll see…

I have been a big fan of red, white, and blue for a long while. The Log Cabin Hearts quilt top (shown right) was made nearly 20 years ago, in 1989. This was a class sample for a Log Cabin Series I taught at the Quilt Barn in Puyallup. I love this quilt, it really does deserve to be finished.

The Home Sweet Home quilt (left) was also part of a series of classes, “Hearts & Flowers, Cats & Dogs, Houses & Trees.” If I remember right, I finished quite a few quilts from my designs but they were all given away.

If you have been to my blog before, you have already seen my Patriotic Pinwheels quilt (click here to see it if you haven’t). I have another new design that I have been working on, I call it Flying Jack. The design is in honor of my dad (the pilot and Vietnam War veteran) and in memory of Marty’s father (Korean War veteran, his CB handle was “Jack of Diamonds”). This one is close to my heart and the work of designing it is slow going because it is emotional work.

If you want to see a HUGE array of Red, White, and Blue inspiration, go to Alycia’s blog. She is a Quilts of Valor supporter to the EXTREME. Beautiful! Awesome!

“The tragedy in life doesn’t lie in not reaching your goal. The tragedy lies in having no goal to reach.” –Benjamin Mays

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
