This week with the Spice Girls Quilt Gang…

The day was cloudy and rainy and cold and our energy levels seemed to be dampened by the weather. The Spice Girls lacked a little spice today, but, I think, we were glad to see each other.

I can’t believe I didn’t take any pictures of Linda’s work in progress! Next week, I promise. Kathy Orr and Holly each bought a little something and signed up for the Hexagon Table Runner class. Miss Della is planning a “The Jetsons” quilt (you know, *singing* “Meet George Jetson, Jane his wife…”). I brought my Pink Fantasy quilt to pin baste while I was there.

One of the highlights of my day was the 20 oz. triple shot Vanilla Latte. I’ve cut back on sugary treats of all kinds, so this was an especially wonderful treat that I had been looking forward to for a couple of days. I loved the sign hanging under the drive-up window of the latte stand (left).

I delivered another class model (shown right) to Linda. I’m still not a big fan of the Western Washington Shop Hop fabric, but have to admit it does work up nicely.

We watched a short sampling of an instructional DVD on free motion machine quilting called “Free Motion Fun with Vines & Leaves” by Patsy Thompson. Wow! Impressive work! I’m really inspired. In fact, since I had pin basted the Pink Fantasy quilt during the meeting yesterday, today I am set up to start free motion quilting as soon as I get this post up. Pictures tomorrow (that is, assuming all will go well with my quilting! 🙂 )

“The best years of your life are the ones in which you decide your problems are your own. You do not blame them on your mother, the ecology, or the president. You realize that you control your own destiny.” – Albert Ellis

~ by Kimberly Mason on August 22, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
