Call the Quilt Police

Last Tuesday I finished machine quilting the Pink Fantasy Crazy Hexagon Kaleidoscope Zen Monkey quilt and sewed on the double-fold binding. Wednesday I was going to be out all day, but would have a lot of down time between activities when I could finish tacking down the binding by hand.

Is it done yet? No. Why not? What happened? I’ll tell you what happened. I HATE sewing down quilt binding by hand!

In fact, I’ll confess to MORE criminal behavior. On my purple Forgiven quilt, I turned the backing to the front, turned the edge under and zig-zagged the binding down.

Wait, there’s more. The whole Come Fly with Me series – double-fold binding, turned to the back and stitched in the ditch from the front. Marty’s American Flag Patchwork quilt? The Patriotic Pinwheels quilt? No handwork involved whatsoever.

There. I’ve said it. I’ve confessed. Let the Quilt Police come and haul me away.

“Quilters in other lands have traditionally frowned upon the very concept of a Quilt Police. However, really – men in uniform. What’s not to like?” -The Queen of Quiltland, http://quiltlandchronicle.blogspot.com

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 1, 2008.

One Response to “Call the Quilt Police”

  1. No arresting needed for you! There are lots of us out here that machine sew binding on, even turn the backing to the front for binding too! I will admit that sometines I will handsew the binding to the back of a quilt. It depends more on the time I have and how soon I want to be done with the quilt. I still need more practice with machine sewing binding, but I’m getting better.

Leave a Reply

 
