QOV Corps ambushed by Ruthless Quilters

I first “met” Robin (shown left) through my blog. She commented, I emailed, etc. When Robin told me she sometimes stops at the Sugar n’ Spice (my home quilt shop) in Morton on her way to Eastern Washington, I urged her to let me know the next time she was coming through and I would try to meet her there.

Yesterday morning, not long after I had arrived at Sugar n’ Spice for our first Spice Girls Quilts of Valor (QOV) Corps meeting, Robin showed up! She introduced herself and there were the usual girlish squeals (coming from me, of course) of “I’m so happy to get to meet you! Wow! What a coincidence! I just happened to be here while you were coming through town!”

Ha! As soon as I heard myself say “coincidence,” I should have KNOWN something was up! Something GOOD!

Robin brought us our first Quilt of Valor! Isn’t it a BEAUTY?!?!?! I am so stunned by….honestly, I’m so stunned that I’m at a loss for words. I choke up each and every time I think about  it or try to tell someone about it. I wish I could do this story justice. I just can’t, I’m too overwhelmed by it.

Robin, you are a DREAM GIRL! Thank you so very much! May God bless you, Robin, as you have blessed us.

And now, the rest of the story: Ruthless Quilters is the name of the Robin’s guild. She told us that they used to be known as the “Calico Quilters,” but then Ruth moved. Without dear Ruth they became Ruthless.

“We cannot do everything at once, but we can do something at once.” -Calvin Coolidge, American president

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 5, 2008.

2 Responses to “QOV Corps ambushed by Ruthless Quilters”

  1. I’m so happy you have your first Quilt of Valor and what a beauty it is! Congratulations. Do however please quit writing things that make me cry!

  2. Kim I certainly didn’t mean to make you cry. I have been thinking about this quilt being donated somewhere special and when I read on your blog you were starting a QOV group I just knew it was the right place. I did however want to surprize you so I didn’t let you know I was coming. We had a nice chat and informed the rest of the group at campout all about the store and the people we met. I hope you get many more quilts made and or donated.
    Robin

Leave a Reply

 
