Enlightenment reFOCUSed & On The Road Again

Five days ago I changed the background of my blog from dark to light. I “enlightened” it.

“You may have expected that enlightenment would come Zap! instantaneous and permanent. This is unlikely. After the first ‘ah-ha’ experience, it can be thought of as the thinning of a layer of clouds.” -Ram Dass

Then, he who is known as Big Man said, “Wow. Your new blog sucks.” I had to agree. The blog may have been enlightened, but it was also a bit cold.  So I changed it back.

Ah well. One minute you think you’re enlightened, the next minute you are in the dark again, looking for a flashlight.

“Courage is not the absence of fear, but rather the judgement that something else is more important than fear.” -Ambrose Redmoon

As of today, I’m on the road again.

I hadn’t run intervals for more than a week, not since the day of my fall. To be honest, I was a bit scared. Who wouldn’t be? One hurt pride, two skinned knees, and a trio of people (Mom, Marty and me) telling me that maybe I’m “too clumsy to run.” It kept me on the couch longer than I would like to admit.

Then I had another “M”, my son Mason, tell me I just needed some new shoes with better support for the type of running I do. Mason is working at the Nike Outlet store while he is going to college, so he set me up with a great set of Nikes – at a discount too!

“Stop living life for what’s around the corner and start enjoying the walk down the street.” -Grant L. Miller, motivational guru

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 3.2 miles total (1.5 miles of intervals, 1.7 miles walking)
~ by Kimberly Mason on September 8, 2008.

2 Responses to “Enlightenment reFOCUSed & On The Road Again”

  1. What are intervals Kim…and good to see you are back at it by the way. Good on M for setting you up with the right shoes as well.

    I also actually like your gothic, dark ages blog colour scheme!

  2. Thanks, Magik!

    Intervals are a combination of work and rest and there are many ways to do them. I run uphill as hard as I can (and at my age and fitness level, you won’t mistake me for Super Woman) for approximately one minute, then I walk downhill at a leisurely pace for approx. two minutes, until I catch my breath and strength enough to go back up again. I don’t actually time myself, I just go as hard as I can until I can’t, then rest. It is supposed to shake things up, metabolically speaking. I hope so. But all I really know is that I feel stronger and more confident every day that I do my intervals (3 times a week), and that’s ALWAYS a good thing!

Leave a Reply

 
