The Rising Fog & McCain vs. Obama

UPDATE: I actually ended up voting for Obama. Thank you, Shane, for pointing me in the “right” direction. I’m glad we talked.

“Everything you are against weakens you. Everything you are for empowers you.” –Dr. Wayne Dyer

The tensions are rising. Can you feel it? Obama. McCain. Good vs. Evil. Goats or Sheep. If you haven’t already chosen a side, choose quickly, and don’t let anyone know that you haven’t been on the right side all along.

But what is the right side? What make a right side right? Can left be right? Or, if you are a total cynic, WHAT right side?

“It is easier to fight for one’s principles than to live up to them.” –Alfred Adler

When my son, Shane (16), asked me who I was for – Obama or McCain – I hesitated for a moment. Not because I’m undecided, but I wanted to make sure that Shane knew I wasn’t voting against anyone.

I’m not against Obama, I’m just for McCain. I enjoy Obama’s energy, his passion. I wish we had a million more like him. He seems to have a caring heart for those that suffer and a love for our country we would all do well to emulate. And he’s young! Obama beats McCain in youth every single time.

But when the sh** really hits the fan in my life, I don’t call one of my sons for help. My boys are great help when there is a couch to be moved or I need advice on running shoes, but they aren’t very helpful when I need a word of wisdom and a plan for action. Youthful energy and passion is beautiful, I love to see it in action. But when the big bad wolf comes knocking at my door, I need a guy (or gal) with some experience in shooting wolves!

“Within us all there are wells of thought and dynamos of energy which are not suspected until emergencies arise.” –Thomas J. Watson

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 9, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
