From the Big Bad Wolf to Jesus in the Hallway

Yesterday I was talking about the Big Bad Wolf and Obama vs. McCain. Good vs. Evil. Today, Jesus.

This stained glass window hangs in the front hallway of my church and is currently flanked by a pair of fireside armchairs. Every time I see it I giggle.

“Have a seat,” Jesus seems to be saying. “Take a load off.”

I giggle. Then I feel warm, and comforted, and peaceful.

“Humor and laughter are carbonated forms of holiness.” -Anne Lamott, Plan B: Further Thoughts on Faith

The Old Christian Kim would have felt somewhat shamed by the giggle. I would have thought of it as irreverence. The Born Again & Again (and maybe even Once More, who knows) Kim takes comfort in the Jesus of the Hallway and joy in the laughter he brings.

I don’t mean to give you the impression that I think that God is a series of one-liners, all giggles and happy happy joy joy fun and frolic. This Jesus stuff is serious business. Loving thy neighbor and whatnot is nothing to joke about.

But we all need to be spiritually fed to be spiritually healthy. We can be fed with the joy of laughter. Refueled by a smile. Enlivened by a guffaw and even elevated in spirit with a snicker. It’s difficult, if not impossible, to spew hatred when you have a mouth full of laughter and a heart full of joy.

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 3.1 miles total (1.5 miles of intervals, 1.6 miles walking)

P.S. Just as I was finishing up my blogpost, I hear, “Chuck, chuck, chuck, CHUCKLE!” outside my front door. It’s a Chukar come to call, wanting to know if I have anything to eat. I told him he’d better get a move on unless he wanted to become someone’s dinner. Not the smartest of birds, by any stretch of the imagination, but they’re great gigglers.

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 10, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
