The Dawn, the Joy & the Dog People

Photographing the sunrise proves that I was there. I took this picture from my front porch at 6:56 am. Until recently, I was a night owl, now I’m a huge fan of The Dawn.

Buddy the WonderDog and I ran early this morning (we might get shot at if we ran any later). The Joy is clearly evident is this shot; Joy of the Day, Joy of the Dog, Joy of the Photographer. We are on top of Thistlehill and it’s only 7:30 am (good for us!). Mt. St. Helen’s is in the background, a heavy fog hovers over Mayfield Lake, and my backyard is full of campers. We call them “The Dog People.”

That’s the Dog People’s campsite, there will be many more of them by tomorrow morning. To the left, on the hill, is my parent’s house – that’s where Buddy and I took the previous picture. On the right, behind all the trees and close to the road is my house. When the Dog People visit I have an extra bathroom (the PortaPotty) and an extra large trash can. Lovely, eh?

The Dog People are actually from NAVHDA, a hunting club. They hold events on our farm three or four times a year. NAVDHA stands for North American Versatile Hunting Dog Association, the local club’s website is here.

Tune in tomorrow and I may have a picture of a fuzzy faced dog or two.

“If we wait for the moment when everything, absolutely everything, is ready, we shall never begin.” -Ivan Turgenev, novelist, poet, playwright

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 6.5 miles (1.9 miles intervals, 4.6 miles walking)

P.S. There were some terrific benefits to getting up early to walk. I saw 5 deer while out walking the road this early am. Life is good.

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 12, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
