On My Design Wall Today…

The St. Andrew/Advent quilt lays foremost in my thoughts and center stage on my design wall. I’m using the “Twisted Tumbler” (3″ x 3 3/4″) template from Come Quilt With Me. Thank you to Bobbi of Sister’s Fabric Shop, who found the template for me.

I’m really not sure where I’m going with this piece. I thought I knew where I was going. I even made some pretty positive directional statements to a few of my Quilted Sisters – but this piece isn’t about me, as I am forced to constantly remind myself.

“We have seen the enemy and he is us.” -Pogo

So I’m doing my best to work contemplatively and intuitively, to listen and be led. As a Recovering Perfectionist & Control Freak I really have to work at allowing a piece to evolve itself. I have never been very good at taking direction or giving it, but work best quietly and on my own. I am an only child, perhaps that has something to do with my inability to play well with others and work in a group setting.

“Improvisation and discipline go hand in hand.”Mary Sullivan Holdgrafer

What you see here is nothing like what it will become, of that alone, I am sure. It seems to me that for right now, finding pleasure in the journey is all I need to do. The rest will come with time and inspiration.

“It is important to do the work that leads to our renewal, clarity and inspiration and then remember to taste it, experience it and let it flow.”Linda Saccoccio

~ by Kimberly Mason on September 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
