The Determination to Grow & Thrive

Talk about determination. This Little Tuft of Grass is determination.

I am determined. And I am proud and I am purposeful. Mostly. On a good day. Sometimes. But I work at it. Mostly.

“Who I am really keeps surprising me.” -Nikki Giovanni

I have always enjoyed the outdoors, but I have never been an athlete – until now. Now I lift weights. Now I run intervals. Now I enjoy long walks through the fields and in the woods. Up hills and down.

I also whine. And I skip workouts. I complain. And I eat cookies and cake – but only on Sundays. Mostly.

“There are no shortcuts to any place worth going.” -Unknown

Physical fitness and good health is a lot of hard work. There. Is. No. Way. Around It. There is no magic formula, no easy way out. You cannot study your way to a strong body. You cannot watch a yoga DVD and become a yogi. Come on, we’re smarter than the average bear, we know better than that! Mostly.

And I’m working on it. I’m not through whining about it, but I’m working on it. I’m through pretending that there is any other way for me to live. I’m determined to grow and to thrive.

Use it or lose it, sister, there isn’t any other way.

“There are but two roads that lead to an important goal and to the doing of great things: strength and perseverance. Strength is the lot of but a few privileged people; but austere perseverance, harsh and continuous, may be employed by the smallest of us and rarely fails of its purpose, for its silent power grows irresistibly greater with time.”Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 3.4 miles (1.5 miles intervals, 2.9 miles walking)
~ by Kimberly Mason on September 26, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
