Thistles Layout Finished, Sewing Begins

I have finished fidgeting around with my layout and have begun by sewing together my first thistle (shown left). Looks like the pieces “wave” a bit and it doesn’t lay flat – but let me assure you that it is perfectly flat, it’s just the dimension in the batik fabric that gives the piece movement. Ah, the joys of batiks!

I am hand piecing Jinny Beyer style. (If you don’t know about Jinny Beyer’s methods, follow the link, she is the greatest!) I can almost hear you saying, “You are HAND PIECING? Why?”

Well, for one, the little four sided wonky shape will lay perfectly flat only if the intersections are free of stitching – meaning, I have to start and stop on the seamline, not fun with a sewing machine (mainly because I would have to think while I sew, not my favorite thing to do – ha!).

And secondly, this will make a great “take-along” project because I will be able to sew together four pieces at a time without too much thinking about which way is up and where does each piece go – I’ll just be making little individual thistles. AND I’ll be able to prayfully piece each thistle together (each flower represents a person in my church and family life), giving more than just a passing thought to each person.

I calculate that it will take about 20 hours to sew together approximately 80 groups of four. Another 10 to finish piecing and 10 more hours just to look and ponder and contemplate. It’s an adventure.

“Think of all the beauty still left around you and be happy.” -Anne Frank

Oh, and if you happen to be someone that would love to buy me something, how about this? (tee hee)

~ by Kimberly Mason on October 29, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
