Grace (Immediately): Thoughts

08handpiecingI love the television series Eli Stone. I’m crazy about Anne Lamott. I’m driven to find examples – in fiction, in the real world, on television and in my own limited experience – of people who have descended into some version of hell and have been able to come out again. People who have made mistakes, made bad decisions, were hurt or damaged through no fault of their own or through their own poor choices and were able to remain sane or somewhat whole or even attain a kind of acceptance of the horrors of this life.

Chen, a character on Eli Stone, said:

“Grace is the spirit of God that exists in humans for the sole purpose of strengthening them.”

I know it’s just a character in a TV show, but wow, what a wonderfully¬† divine way of defining Grace.07progress-1

And author Anne Lamott (Grace (Eventually): Thoughts on Faith is quoted as saying:

“Eugene O’Neill said that man is born broken and the grace of God is glue, and I think that’s pretty true, that it’s divine glue. It’s glue that surprises you. Classically, grace is unmerited assistance from God. I know that grace meets you wherever you are, and doesn’t leave you where it found you. I experience it as buoyancy, as a very strange sense of calm in the midst of tremendous anxiety and lostness. I often get my sense of humor back, or I just feel safe and in God’s care.”

I adore her. She always makes me feel…good. And like I’m not the only dummy in the shop. And she makes me laugh. And cry. And, for at least for a little while, as I’m reading her words, she lifts my burdens and eases my heart’s ache. Thanks, Anne.

Today I need a little Super Glue of Grace.

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 8, 2008.

One Response to “Grace (Immediately): Thoughts”

  1. I just stumbled across your blog. What a breath of fresh air! I truly enjoyed it. We also share some of the same interests. God, of course, I’m a mom of five, love to quilt, just quit smoking, and you live on our dream land, lol. How beautiful it is!

    I also think it’s awesome that you do the QOV. I was 7 months pregnant with our 4th child when my husband was deployed to Iraq in 2005. He didn’t even get to see his son until he was almost 7 months old. It was a very hard time for all of us. Keep up the great work. I know that it is much appreciated.

Leave a Reply

 
