Thistle Piecing Finished, Quilting Quandary Presented

12thistles-1I have finished hand piecing my quilt top (shown at right on black design wall, 30″ x 54″) and I’m relatively sure I’m not adding any borders. So, I’m ready to proceed with the quilting of my banner, but (and here’s the quandary):

Hand Quilting or Machine Quilting?

I am really, REALLY leaning toward machine quilting, BUT — that old school, rules regulated, there’s a right way and a wrong way, sad sister of a perfectionist traditional quilter that still resides deep down inside is shouting at me with an annoying litany of curses.

“You can’t be seriously thinking of ruining all your hand piecing with machine quilting?!? ‘Hand pieced, machine quilted’? Who DOES that??”

Heeeelp! I need to be liberated from my old fashioned self! Or do I? Please don’t call the Quilt Police…

“On no account brood over your wrongdoing. Rolling in the muck is not the best way of getting clean.” -Aldous Huxley

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 13, 2008.

One Response to “Thistle Piecing Finished, Quilting Quandary Presented”

  1. Thanks for your comment today; I’m honored to be compared with Annie Lamott! I do indeed have some brokenness, but it’s different from hers, for sure: no drug or alcohol components. A divorce, sudden parental deaths and some agonizing betrayals… all grist for the mill.

    And about that gratitude journal — Let me know if you remember why you’re grateful for bras!

    And, as a former quilting teacher (for the League of NH Crafts in Hanover, NH), I have to confess that when a quilt is this gorgeous (and it really is gorgeous) I would just (gasp) tie it. That way nothing detracts from the beauty of it… And yes, that’s partly because I’m lazy…

Leave a Reply

 
