Where Christmas Trees Come From & a Pumpkin Purse

dsc01536

Next door (next farm?) to our place is a flourishing Christmas Tree Farm, the Southern Cross. The first of November the workers head out into the miniature forest to get the trees ready for harvest. By the middle of November trees have been cut, tied and are shipped out by the truckload (sometimes loaded onto the trucks by helicopters!).

Please don’t hold it against me, but I admit that in spite of the fact that I am basically a Scrooge, I always seem to get a rush of excitement for the coming season as the tree harvest progresses. Shhhh! Don’t tell anyone.

“Imagination was given to us to compensate for what we are not; a sense of humor was given to us to console us for what we are.” -Mark McGinnis

pumpkinpurseSpeaking of excitement, Dianne, a student from my “Quilty Girl Purse” class designed her OWN Pumpkin Purse! Awesome, eh?!! I told my students that they could take my basic pattern and alter the shape to design their own version, and though I was hopeful, I really didn’t believe anyone would venture out and DO it. Yeeeeeaaaah, Dianne!

“The miracle is this — the more we share, the more we have.” -Leonard Nimoy

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 14, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
