Oreo Cookie Rubbings & Communion Wafers

15oreo-1Flipping through an old Quilting Arts magazine (Fall 2005) I came upon an artist profile of Judy Coates Perez (did you know she is an Episcopalian too?). Gorgeous work! Anyway, she made a quilt she calls “Graven Images” that was inspired by gravestone rubbings.15experiments

So, from there my thoughts went to Della and my mother who both said that they weren’t “getting” my communion wafer above the chalice in my Advent banner/artquilt. And thus, the rubbing of the Oreo cookie (shown left) was born.

I 15progresscalled my mother (local expert and Altar Guild President) to ask if it would be against the rules or if Jesus might be offended by my taking a rubbing from a priest host or communion wafer. She assured me that as long as it was not previously blessed then I wouldn’t be forced to eat it. 🙂

“Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is a daring adventure or nothing at all.” -Helen Keller

~ by Kimberly Mason on November 15, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
