My First Play Date with Ruth B. McDowell

20_firstplaywithruthLast night I decided to dive into my new Ruth B. McDowell books, Piecing Workshop and Design Workshop.

OMGoodness how very very…WOW! Her step-by-step instructions were a cinch to follow and these blocks went together so easily it felt like I was under a magical quilting spell.

I started with curved seams this morning – and then quit in frustration.  I had skipped the written instructions and just skimmed the pictures, figuring that I had Ruth down and didn’t need the hand holding. Ha! Wrong! 20mapleleaf1So I tossed what I had started and have determined that I should really let Ruth’s linear piecing soak in before I head over to curves.

So I’m starting with Ruth’s Maple Leaf pattern this morning. I’m so excited! Thanks, Ruth!

“Be bold. If you’re going to make an error, make a doozey, and don’t be afraid to hit the ball.” –Billie Jean King

~ by Kimberly Mason on December 20, 2008.

One Response to “My First Play Date with Ruth B. McDowell”

  1. Looks like fun! Don’t you just love trying new things? Good luck on those curves! I haven’t pieced curves since my beginning quilting class, although I have a quilt in mind I want to make with curves–it’s been near the top of my “quilts to do” list for awhile now.

Leave a Reply

 
