Reading Deprivation, Def Leppard, Nora Jones & Ruth

Step 4 in the The Artist’s Way (a 12-step artist’s recovery program) includes reading deprivation. That’s right, NO READING.

“For most artists, words are like tiny tranquilizers. We have a daily quota of media chat that we swallow up. Like greasy food, it clogs our system. Too much of it and we feel, yes, fried. . .reading deprivation casts us into our inner silence. . .[it] is a very powerful tool — and a very frightening one. Even thinking about it can bring up enormous rage. For most blocked creatives, reading is an addiction. We gobble the words of others rather than digest our own thoughts and feelings. . .” -Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way

Apparently, I’m an addict. “Hello, my name is Kim and I have a serious reading addiction.”

When I finished up Step 3 near the end of November, I was so proud of myself that I leapt enthusiastically to Step 4 and skipped merrily down the recovery road until I got to the part about no reading, limited television viewing, no internet surfing, no email and no constant stream of content streaming into my ears through the headphones of my iPod Shuffle. Yes, you may gasp in horror, for I certainly did!

I mean, seriously, how am I supposed to avoid real life if I don’t have a constant chatter of others people’s thoughts, concerns, ideas, stories, beliefs, rantings, ravings and arrrgh! This being left to my own thoughts is frightening!

Third in a Series of Ruth B. McDowell-esque Landscapes

Third in a Series of Ruth B. McDowell-esque Landscapes

So forgive me if I seem a little crazy crazier than usual for the next few days.

I have Kelly Joe Phelps, Norah Jones and Def Leppard to keep me company while I tackle a few more landscapes with Ruth B. McDowell. (Wow, name dropper, huh?) If you don’t hear from me for a while, you might send someone to check on me.

“If we don’t change, we don’t grow. If we don’t grow, we are not really living. Growth demands a temporary surrender of security.” –Gail Sheehy

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 30 min. Yoga Practice

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 1, 2009.

2 Responses to “Reading Deprivation, Def Leppard, Nora Jones & Ruth”

  1. I do not want to move on to Chapter 4 ( I am trying to get through the steps… currently on step three). I must read. Hello, my name is Linda and I am a reading addict. I’m not sure if I need to recover. I love to read. I support you , Kim,on your week of reading deprivaation.

  2. But if we comment, will you read it?!

Leave a Reply

 
