Kim’s Big Confession: I Googled ‘Reading Deprivation’

The word “google” sounds like something off the ‘7 Deadly Sins’ list, doesn’t it? Well, that’s what I did last night, I googled. I googled ‘reading deprivation the artist’s way’ WHILE I was supposed to be under the Rule of Reading Deprivation. Yeah, I know. That’s how crazy the Rule of Reading Deprivation makes you, er, me.

Well, here’s what I found out – I’m not the only crazy person out there. SURPRISE! In fact, I’m not only NOT the only crazy person out there, I’m not even the craziest!

One blogger wrote (and you’ll need to add a self-righteous, pompous tone to this for it to read well), “I, obviously, can’t go without reading for an entire week. I mean, I’ll have to read STOP signs, I would be a danger to society if I didn’t.” And a young mother who wrote, “I can’t do this, I’d put my kids lives in danger if I wasn’t allowed to read the expiration dates on their food!” Another blogged, “I hope that what I’m writing makes sense because I’m not allowed to read what I wrote to edit it.”

Oh puh-lease, people! Are you serious? Really? I’d like to invite these people to join me in my other 12-step program, Perfectionists Anonymous.

“Perfectionism is the voice of oppression, the enemy of the people. It will keep you insane your whole life.” -Anne Lamott, Bird by Bird

Perfectionism is just another excuse for not doing what scares you. Since when has Perfectionism really ever been an option anyway? Name the last thing you did Perfectly. Come on, I dare ya. You name it, I bet I can poke holes in it.

Perfectionism forces us to focus so closely on the details that we miss the bigger picture entirely. We miss the JOY of the bigger picture. Step back, relax, look at the overall results of your best (and sometimes not-so-best) efforts and find some kind of beauty in your accomplishment. You can even find some beauty in your failures if you look hard enough.

The Rule of Reading Deprivation is about becoming aware of what you are filling your mind, your time and your spirit with. Googling ‘reading deprivation the artist’s way’ was a total waste of my time; I broke the letter and the spirit of the law. But once I was able to step back and look at the big picture, I learned something from it.

So, I have to ask you: What are you filling your mind with today?

“A life of reaction is a life of slavery, intellectually and spiritually. One must fight for a life of action, not reaction.” –Rita Mae Brown

TODAY’S EXERCISE:  20 minutes Yoga Practice

Note to Self: Put dogs in kennel while practicing yoga. It’s hard to concentrate on your breathing and relax when you have two cold, sniffing noses hovering over you wanting to know why you are laying on the floor and if you are okay, and if so, how about a cuddle and a good scratch?

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
