Communion: an Age-Defying Formula & Defense Against the Elements

Sounds like a face cream advertisement, doesn’t it. “New age-defying formula” — a phrase that will turn every mature woman’s head and stop her in her tracks. If you need to a woman’s full attention, just start with the phrase “I have discovered the secret to youthful skin.”

Well, I have discovered the secret to youthful skin: communion. That’s right, communion, lower case ‘c.’ And if you add community and Communion (with a capital ‘c’) then you have stumbled upon the cure – or at least a powerful salve – for old age, ugliness, hunger, loneliness, heartache and many other ills and aches brought on by the mere act of living in this world.

Communion is defined by Merriam-Webster as:

1: an act or instance of sharing

2 capitalized : a Christian sacrament in which consecrated bread and wine are consumed as memorials of Christ’s death or as symbols for the realization of a spiritual union between Christ and communicant or as the body and blood of Christ

3: intimate fellowship or rapport : communication

4: a body of Christians having a common faith and discipline (i.e. the Anglican communion)

Communion in communion with your community. The Triple Threat.

How do I know this is true? I watched a short film yesterday afternoon that proves it, without a doubt.

It was during the Second Sunday Sacrament (aka coffee hour) that we watched a short video of the Christmas party that my church, St. Timothy’s, hosted for the families of our local National Guard unit (now deployed to Iraq). Each and every time the faces of our St. Tim’s people came on the screen I was blown away by their beauty. I thought to myself, “My goodness we have an extraordinarily beautiful church body! Look at them! They’re movie stars!” It brought tears to my eyes. And then after a while I thought that it must be the camera work, the videographer specially talented. Surely so. How can any one bunch be so glowingly gorgeous?

And then it occurred to me, it wasn’t the first time I had seen this phenomenon. In fact, I had seen that same strength of beauty just that morning as I stood in line at the back of the church waiting for Communion. I had remembered thinking to myself how very lucky I was to be here, how very beautiful my community is as they line up together, as one, awaiting the blessing of Holy Communion.

“Feed my sheep,” Jesus said. Many times and in many ways he said, “Feed my sheep.” Spiritually, intellectually, emotionally, physically: “Feed my sheep.”

That is the secret to beauty. When you are feeding God’s sheep, you are Beautiful.

“The world is not moved only by the mighty shoves of the heroes, but also by the aggregate of the tiny pushes of each honest worker.” -Helen Keller

TODAY’S EXERCISE: Chasing my granddaught, Emma, around church. She says I’m “silly.” That makes me happy.

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 4, 2009.

One Response to “Communion: an Age-Defying Formula & Defense Against the Elements”

  1. Dadgummit! You made me cry. Thank you for your words today.

Leave a Reply

 
