The Light of Epiphany, Pantone’s Color of the Year & You

Did you even know that Pantone has a “Color of the Year“? I didn’t, not until I heard about it through the QuiltArt mailing list. Who’s Pantone? Why they are “the global authority on color and provider of professional color standards for the design industries,” of course. Well, according to them, anyway.

So what’s the new color? Mimosa, a warm and inviting yellow.

“In a time of economic uncertainty and mimosapolitical change, optimism is paramount. . .The color yellow exemplifies the warmth and nurturing quality of the sun, properties we as humans are naturally drawn to for reassurance. . .Mimosa also speaks to enlightenment, as it is a hue that sparks imagination and innovation.”

Mimosa is also the color of Charlie Brown’s t-shirt. Charlie Brown, the forever optimist who still believes that one day Lucy will let him kick the football. Good ol’ Charlie Brown, America’s most lovable loser. He shows us optimism isn’t always the best choice. Sometimes you just need to face facts and adjust accordingly.

That’s where the epiphany comes in to play. Once you have determined that just “hoping” isn’t going to save you, it’s time to discover what is. It’s that light bulb moment that Oprah talks about. Have you seen the light?

Today we celebrate the Feast of Lights, Epiphany, the day three wise men found the Christ child lying in the manger. The day they brought him gifts of love and wonder. The day the Light of the World was made known to the gentile world. What gifts have you to give this world?

Hope cannot shine brightly in a world of darkness unless you bring a light to shine upon it. Unless we all work together to keep our light shining, how can the lost sheep find their way home? Have you found your way home?

“God of every epiphany great and small, I humbly give my voice to you. Please speak through me. I give my mind to you so that I might have your thoughts. I give my heart to you, that you might show me how to love you more deeply. I give my hands and feeet to you, that I might be your presence in this world. I give my life to you to be used as you see fit. In the name of your Son, my Savior, I say “Amen.” -from the Following the Star devotional for today

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 6, 2009.

3 Responses to “The Light of Epiphany, Pantone’s Color of the Year & You”

  1. Thanks for finally talking about >The Light of Epiphany,
    Pantone’s Color of the Year & You | an oft traveled road <Loved it!

  2. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I
    could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something like
    this. Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward
    to your new updates.

  3. This design is spectacular! You most certainly know how to keep a reader amused.
    Between your wit and your videos, I was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost…HaHa!) Excellent job.
    I really loved what you had to say, and more than that, how you presented it.
    Too cool!

Leave a Reply

 
