National Champions: Florida Gators

08nationalchampsgatorsThe University of Florida Gators are the new College Football National Champions – so, I guess that means I’m going to have to finish Marty’s Gator quilt! (It’s only been in my UFO stack since their last championship two years ago.)

Have you heard about Tim Tebow, quarterback for the Gators? There are “Tebowisms” floating around the internet that would be funny if they weren’t true:

“Superman wears Tim Tebow pajamas.”

“Before the bogeyman goes to sleep, he checks his closet for Tim Tebow.”

“Tim Tebow gets breakfast at McDonalds after 10:30.”

“When Google can’t find something, it asks Tim Tebow for help.”

tebowAnd best of all, “Tim Tebow is a young man of faith who believes that God is Number 1 and Jesus saves.”

Okay, actually, only the last one is true — and maybe the one about getting breakfast at McDonalds after 10:30 am (at least in Gainesville). Go Gators!

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 30 minutes Yoga Practice

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 8, 2009.

9 Responses to “National Champions: Florida Gators”

  1. I really, really, really hate the gators (I went to another SEC school!) but the quilt is gorgeous.

  2. I have to offer my congrats; great game! I’ll just say “War Eagle” anyway!

  3. My husband had the game on for a while last night but it was tied last I looked. He went to UF but doesn’t usually follow the games very closely – he’ll be happy to hear they won.

  4. Love the quilt — would like to make one — do you have a source for your pattern?

  5. Hi, I was looking up ideas for my first quilt (that Im making for my senior year at UF) and I LOVE LOVE LOVE this quilt. I wondered if you either had a picture of the whole thing, suggestions for how you did it, or patterns for the gator, or anything really, because I absolutley love it!
    Thanks so much!

    • This is my own design, so there isn’t a pattern. I’m STILL not finished with it, can you believe, but hope to get it quilted and ready for watching another championship game this January. πŸ™‚ We are big Gator fans, my DH is from Florida and has fond memories of attending his first Cocktail Party over 30 years ago.

      I made the pattern for the Gator head myself. I had a embroidered Gator on a hat, made a pencil rubbing and then drew a grid over it and enlarged it by about 1000%. It wasn’t easy, but it turned out well. I used Wonder Under (a glue product) to make my fabric fusible for the Gator and the lettering (which I cut out freeform).

      My suggestion would be to find a pattern that you like that uses fat quarters or a collection of fabrics for a scrap quilt. If you stick mainly to patterns with squares and rectangles (rather than triangles) you will have an easier time as a beginner. Then you can have fun collecting fabrics (my favorite part!).

      Concentrate on blues and oranges, but range out on the color wheel into each side of the blue and orange to insure that your quilt has “sparkle” (i.e. light blue, greenish blue, navy, red, pink, yellow/orange). A black and white print thrown into the mix always tends to calm down its neighbors. Keeping the percentage of orange fabrics to under 25% will also keep your quilt from being too garish.

      You can find another picture (it’s not a very good one though) here: https://kimquiltz.files.wordpress.com/2008/08/gator.jpg. It looks so much better in person!

      Please keep me informed, I’d love to help in any way I can and would love even more to see a picture of your success!

      Go Gators and Peace! Kim

  6. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic but I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links or maybe
    guest authoring a blog post or vice-versa? My website goes over a
    lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you might be interested feel free to send me an e-mail.
    I look forward to hearing from you! Great blog by the way!

  7. You really make it appear really easy with your presentation but I
    find this topic to be really something that I believe I’d by no means understand. It sort of feels too complicated and extremely broad for me. I’m looking forward on your subsequent post, I will try to
    get the cling of it!

  8. Hi, I do think this is an excellent web site. I stumbledupon it
    πŸ˜‰ I may return once again since i have saved as a favorite it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may
    you be rich and continue to help others.

Leave a Reply

 
