An Innovative Border for The Seasons

16seasons1If I do say so myself. Or maybe not so innovative, idk, but I’m thrilled with myself – mostly. (A roller coaster of confidence and lack thereof – it’s the Big M, what a ride!).

I’m hoping that the border surrounding the four blocks is subtle, just not too subtle. You should be able to see trees, sky and ground behind the seasonal blocks.

I try to build “depth” into my quilts. By saying that I mean that I try to give you something pleasant to look at with a casual glance, but if you study it a while longer you see different elements come forward and speak to you. A bit like “Where’s Waldo.” I get a real thrill when I watch someone who is studying my work and they have a look of discovery and surprise cross their face and they turn to me and say, “Oh! Did you know…?”

Yeah, I know, but I really love it when you discover it too. How fun!

“Become so wrapped up in something that you forget to be afraid.” –Lady Bird Johnson

TODAY’S EXERCISE: Who has time! Quilting to be done today! BOM meeting at Quilter’s Junction!  Go! Go! Go!

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 16, 2009.

3 Responses to “An Innovative Border for The Seasons”

  1. omg it’s PERFECT!!!

  2. Thank you so much! You are so VERY kind. 😀

  3. Beautiful! Amazing depth. I especially love the winter block. I feel as though I want to look inside and see what else is covered in snow. Ok, maybe that was a little corny, but it is true, lol.

Leave a Reply

 
