Falling Prey to Peer Pressure & Spice Earl Tea

23sugarnspiceshoppingYou don’t have to be a teenager to fall prey to peer pressure and I’m a prime example of a quilter of weak character. I have (happily and willingly) joined the Dear Jane Support Group at the Sugar ‘n Spice.

Oh dear, so many 12-step programs, so little time! But we gotta do what we gotta do and I gotta start my own Dear Jane quilt.

What is a Dear Jane quilt? Jane A. Stickle of Vermont hand pieced and appliqued 5602 pieces into a quilt of her own design, finishing in 1863 (see the Dear Jane book by Brenda Manges Papadakis at left). Will I ever complete my own Dear Jane quilt? Probably not. But since I am more about the journey than I am about the destination, I’m sure to have fun traveling down this road with the Dear Ladies in the Dear Jane Support Group.

23spiceearlteaWhile I’m at it, I may as well confess to another new addiction, the London Fog Tea at Starbucks. And in honor of my newest addiction, my latest 12-step program and my Spice Girl friends, I have created my own “Spice Earl Tea” recipe. It’s a bit sweet, a lot bold and more than a little different – just like our Spice Girls.

Spice Earl Tea Recipe
Earl Grey Tea
Dried Lavender
3 parts water, 1 part milk
Torani Vanilla syrup

Adjust the flavors to your own taste. I prefer it a little less sweet, a little bolder tea (Stash Double Bergamot Earl Grey Black Tea) and a strong lavender flavor.

“Far away in the sunshine are my highest aspirations. I may not reach them, but I can look up and see their beauty, believe in them, and try to follow where they lead.” -Louisa May Alcott

P.S. The backdrop for my tea scene happens to be from the “Crazy Kaleidoscope” quilt class I’ll be teaching in April at the Quilter’s Junction in Centralia.

TODAY’S EXERCISE: Not a bloody thing. So there! 🙂

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 23, 2009.

One Response to “Falling Prey to Peer Pressure & Spice Earl Tea”

  1. A DJ support group will help you along the way. Mine has done wonders for me. Good luck as you start out on your journey —

Leave a Reply

 
