Pushing Thru to Get the Job Done

Pink Fantasy Crazy Hexagon Kaleidoscope, 40" x 50", Quilter's Junction, April 11I really, really, really, really, REALLY hate tacking down bindings. Really.

Why? The problem is that tacking down binding is the final step in making the quilt. And then you’re done. It’s over.

And how is that a problem? Because then it’s done! It’s over! I’m FINISHED!

I’m more about the process of quilt making and very much less about the end result. I started this quilt in August and it has been draped over the back of my TV chair with 4 feet of binding left to tack down ever since.

I know, I’m ashamed myself, actually, maybe it’s more that I’m frustrated with myself. But there is a lesson to be learned in every failure or frustration – if you look hard enough.

“He who cannot change the very fabric of his thought will never be able to change reality.” –Anwar al-Sadat

The reality that I didn’t want to finish tacking down my binding was overwhelming me. I didn’t feel up to the task. But I needed to deliver this quilt to the Quilter’s Junction as my class sample this week!

But as I looked down at the length of un-tacked binding before me, it seemed to stretch as long as a football field. Even further. How was I going to change that reality?

“When you change the way you look at things, the things you look at change.” -Dr. Wayne Dyer

That is one lesson that I seem to need to remind myself of over and over. I decided that I needed to look at my task differently. I was going to be sitting in my TV chair for at least the next hour anyway, and if I just took this task on one stitch at a time, just maybe I could push through and get this job done. Not think about how far, just think about how well I was stitching.  AA tells us to take one day at a time, why not one stitch?

P.S. The Pink Fantasy Crazy Hexagon Kaleidoscope Quilt (shown above) is from my Crazy Kaleidoscope class at Quilter’s Junction on April 11. Super fun quilt, a tiny challenge but only enough of a challenge to make it interesting. Come quilt with me!

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 29, 2009.

3 Responses to “Pushing Thru to Get the Job Done”

  1. I know just how you feel. I can’t stand handsewing bindings. I machine stitch it on the back first and then flip it over and decorative stitch on the top or else they’d never get done!

  2. This quilt has such a happy feeling, maybe that’s why you didn’t want to leave it behind. Sewing down a binding is like sewing on buttons or hemming a hem. It’s just not much fun. But it’s a great quilt!

  3. Ah. This is why you are a quilter and I am a photographer. I always hated the being-in-progress phase of quilting. I love the design, love the finished product, and am interminably bored by everything in between. Binding is great cuz it’s the beginning of the end!

    And I agree with Norma — it’s a great quilt.

Leave a Reply

 
