Art, Craft & Your Creative Journey

The following is from the Afterward in Mia Rozmyn’s book “Freedom in Design: New Directions in Foundation Paper Piecing“:

“For me, art and craft are tightly interwoven. I come from a strong heritage of fine craftsmen and women who worked in practical, tactile media and whose creations do not meet the academic definitions of “Art.” For us, the process has always been as important as the product. Our rewards are personal and private. Individual development is a personal journey.”

31hwy2The process not the product. Absolutely. My quilt making is a spiritual journey and so much of that journey is very private and personal. I dread being perceived as “wacky” (I’m an artist, of COURSE I’m wacky!), so I tend to not completely share my inspiration or much of the spiritual context.

“I strongly believe that the creative impulse is as inherent in humans as the need to breathe or sleep. We are the most open to this impulse as children when the world is still full of wonder for us. We may create in mud pies, music, marbles, or words. We may create with food or computer bits. We may turn just cleaning a room, planting a field, or caring for the elderly into a confirmation of life and creativity. Each of us finds our own medium. But we do create.”

31hwyI find myself turning my more “ordinary” tasks or chores into a sort of prayer or meditation. It seems to lend a bit of the sacred to the task and to my intention.

“As we grow up, we tend to absorb cultural ideas that may inhibit our responses to this impulse. We are taught arbitrary definitions for “art” and “artists.” Still more destructively, we are taught how to judge art and artistic talent. Much of our journey as adult artists is to unlearn this unnecessary baggage.”

Losing sight of the “magic” in ourselves and in the world around us is part of growing up. We disbelieve Tinkerbell out of existence. And with her disappearance, our own stories become dull and full of mundane acts of chore and obligation. There is joy in magic, reclaim your joy.

“Ultimately, each of us is responsible for our own journey. Formal art training is available, but it is not the only way to learn. Just as we cannot really learn a language without using it, we cannot grow as artists without creating. If you want to grow, push your limits. Try new things. Avoid judging your work or comparing it to others’ work. They have their own path and this should be your own journey.”

31nightAmen, Sister! Beautifully said.

Note: The photographs in this post were taken along my journey to and from my favorite Artist’s Retreat – my weekly Spice Girl Gang meetings at the Sugar ‘n Spice in Morton, Washington.

~ by Kimberly Mason on January 31, 2009.

3 Responses to “Art, Craft & Your Creative Journey”

  1. Dang, woman — can you teach me how to do that? I always try to turn those daily chores into meditations but I just can’t seem to get the hang of it. It’s the same problem I have with quilting — I just want to finish and move on to the next thing.

    So much for being a TRUE contemplative!

  2. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any problems of plagorism or
    copyright infringement? My website has a lot of completely unique content I’ve either created myself or outsourced but it appears a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any ways to help reduce content from being ripped off? I’d really appreciate it.

  3. Kim! thank you so much! I’m really glad to find a kindred spirit. Mia rozmyn

Leave a Reply

 
