Buying Toilet Paper for Jesus

haveaseatMy first sacred duty as Junior Warden for St. Timothy’s Episcopal Church: buy toilet paper and dishwasher soap.Yes, I’m buying toilet paper for Jesus.

I’m not being asked to head up a building or remodeling program, I’m not even being asked to install a new baby changing station in the men’s room (we only have one baby and one man who would use it).

Nope, as I walked into church yesterday morning I was greeted with, “Hi Kim, we’re out of toilet paper in the first stall in the women’s bathroom.” And later, “Kim, let me show you the brand of dishwasher detergent we use, we’re completely out.”

30organYou gotta love it! I love my new job.

Mr. Marty teasingly calls me a “Tool…a tool for Jesus.” (I love him, I really do!) I say, “Bring it on!” I’m ready to work.

“Great opportunities to help others seldom come, but small ones surround us every day.”– Sally Koch

~ by Kimberly Mason on February 2, 2009.

One Response to “Buying Toilet Paper for Jesus”

  1. Maybe I should have been thankful I had the remodel during my term because I didn’t have to worry about minutia like TP and soap. Our sexton ordered whatever was necessary and I just signed off on the expenditures. I LOVED our sexton!!
    BTW – when we had the grand unveiling of the bathroom remodel, two men came up to thank me for putting a wet bar in the men’s room! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
