A Calling of Two Nancys, a Bev, a Shirley and Me to Dinner & an Ordination

02anthonysviewYesterday two Nancys (my mother was one), Bev, Shirley and I piled into Nancy’s Crown Victoria and wheeled our way into Olympia for an early dinner at Anthony’s Home Port (see subtly serene sunset over sailboats at left) and the ordination of June at St. John’s Episcopal Church later that evening.

We felt called to witness the ending of a thirteen year journey of a fellow parishioner to the priesthood and the beginning of her journey into a life’s dedication of service to God. I don’t know June personally – she had already left on her journey by the time I joined St. Timothy’s – but I could certainly relate to and admire the woman and her courage, her calling and her commitment made evident last night. It was a beautiful service.

There was a time when the very idea of a woman bishop presiding in the ordination of a woman to the priesthood would have been laughable to me. It’s hard for me to come to grips with the idea that I am now old enough to be able to realize that there is ANY idea that was so far out there, so unimaginable, that I could in NO WAY conceive of it ever happening in my lifetime. A woman priest?? Maybe in an Amazon world (the fictional women’s community, not the online bookstore).

02st_johnsThere’s something else I thought I never would see in a church: liturgical dancers. Now I’m sure that there are some of you out there that are wondering what rock I’ve been living under, but surely there are some others of you are wondering “Liturg-what???”

Three ladies in flowing blue costumes, carrying vases and gracefully peaceful smiles performed the “Blessing of the Water” to Bach’s Prelude in D.

A Cantor, Liturgical Dancers, Gregorian chanting, the flinging and slinging of Blessed Waters over a thirsty crowd of believers, the elegant Lady Bishop, the pretty, newly ordained Lady Priest, two Nancys, a Bev, a Shirley and me. What a night!

“The aim of Life is to Live, and to Live means to be Aware, joyously, drunkenly, serenely, divinely, Aware.” -Henry James

TODAY’S EXERC ISE: Wrestling my Green Riot Quilt under the sewing machine needle and successfully muscling down the binding for a clean win!

~ by Kimberly Mason on February 3, 2009.

3 Responses to “A Calling of Two Nancys, a Bev, a Shirley and Me to Dinner & an Ordination”

  1. First – Anthony’s Homeport and Willapa Bay oysters. The very thought makes my mouth water!

    My best friend is an Episcopal priest in Virginia Beach. Her ordination to the priesthood was one of the most incredibly moving celebrations I have ever witnessed. When the community of priests came forward for the laying on of hands, I thought my heart would jump out of my chest. I can assure you that I never dreamed that I would witness the ordination of a woman…much less women bishops and a woman PRESIDING bishop!

  2. What a night is right! It was a wonderful evening with friends, listening, learning, and celebrating! I thoroughly enjoyed the evening with dinner, celebration, and song. Thank you for putting this on your blog. It brought smiles for me, right down to my heart as your writing is so very descriptive and full of energy! With Love, the Nancy with the “moving wheels”.

  3. I feel honored to be given space on your blog, Kim. It was a beautiful service. I will never forget the moment when Bishop Nedi layed her hands upon my head. It was truly a grace filled moment. Blessings to you as you begin your “job” as Junior Warden at St. Timothy’s. By the way, I had never seen liturgical dancers before I came to St. John’s in Olympia. June+

Leave a Reply

 
