All About Annie & the Green Riot

04journalannie1I love intriguing titles, don’t you? And I love kind, talented, generous, entertaining people too. And even if you aren’t any of the above, I love you too, Jesus told me to and I always do what he says. Mostly. Kinda. Well, I try anyway. Most days.

Anyway, Annie Smith of Annie’s Quilting Stash podcast fame sent me this glorious handmade journal as a prize for entering one of her online contests. Isn’t it beautiful!?! AND, you would think that Annie and I are the best of friends and she knows me to a “T” cuz this journal couldn’t be more perfect! Green and blue? How’d she know??

Annie, you are a kind, talented, generous, entertaining person and I am thankful that I can listen in to your quilty conversations with your wonderful quilty friends.

04greenriotAnd speaking of quilty conversations with quilty friends, I am going to the first meeting of the Dear Jane Support Group at Sugar ‘n Spice this afternoon, tomorrow I will be at Sugar ‘n Spice all day for Quilts of Valor, and Friday afternoon I have the Block of the Month at Quilter’s Junction in Centralia. WHEW! Lots of quilty fun ahead!

I won’t be working on my Dear Jane quilt at the Dear Jane Support Group, however, I will be glueing down my binding on the Green Riot Kaleidoscope Quilt (click link for a close up view). That’s right, I said glue, Elmer’s, in fact. I have it on very good authority – Sharon Schamber, Best in Show at Huston – that it’s the thing to do. Glue first, then machine sew. Go to her website for the tutorial.

I will be teaching this quilt on February 21 at the Sugar ‘n Spice in Morton. Come quilt with me!

“The capacity for hope is the most significant fact of life. It provides human beings with a sense of destination and the energy to get started.” –Norman Cousins

TODAY’S EXERCISE: Quilty conversations and fun! Work those lips, girl!

~ by Kimberly Mason on February 4, 2009.

2 Responses to “All About Annie & the Green Riot”

  1. OMG, that quilt is AMAZING!. So much patience, to do all those curved pieces and all that quilting. I bow to you, o gifted one.

  2. Thank you thank you thank you! And the truly amazing part is that there are no curved pieces and no difficult seams involved at all. THAT is my talent, to take what looks hard to do and make it easy for my ladies. It is not nearly as hard as it looks! And don’t worry, I’ll still allow you to bow to me as the gifted one *wicked grin* because I think that it is quite a wonderful thing to give a boost of “I can do it too!” confidence to my fellow quilters.

Leave a Reply

 
