President Obama & Me (Great Minds & Whatnot)

26roadto_

“Well, that day of reckoning has arrived, and the time to take charge of our future is here.” -President Obama, in his speech to a joint session of Congress, February 24, 2009

Tuesday evening, President Obama laid out his plan for our country in a speech before congress. Tuesday evening, I was laying out my plan for observing Lent.

“Now is the time to act boldly and wisely, to not only revive this economy, but to build a new foundation for lasting prosperity.” -President Obama

I’m on a Lenten Road to change, actively seeking a prosperity of the spirit, a revival of the mind and a new foundation for healthy living in peace with the earth. Lent isn’t just about what you give up, it’s also about what you take up. Lent can be a beginning, a start, a change.

“Now is the time to. .  .invest in areas like energy, health care, and education that will grow our economy, even as we make hard choices to bring our deficit down. . .and that is what I’d like to talk to you about tonight.” -President Obama

Both President Obama and I have energy, health care, and education as three main points of action. (Like I said, Great Minds and all that whatnot.)

Energy of Spirit: prayer. I have been reading through Phyllis Tickles’s book The Divine Hours: Prayers for Springtime. I am also working on a greater understanding of Christian meditation through podcasts with John Main, O.S.B. (find him on iTunes). I have been energized by both practices.

Healthful Living: diet and exercise. I am giving up packaged foods and taking up more vegetables (I am not limiting my cookies, I just can’t have them out of a box). I have returned to Fitday.com for a diet log and online nutrition analysis. I have decided to try the yoga classes in Morton at 2’nd Street Yoga, I’ll let you know how that goes.

Education: I am re-reading The Scandalous Gospel of Jesus by Peter J. Gomes.  I was new to the Anglican church and had only recently rediscovered my faith when I first read the book. I found Gomes “radical” point of view eye-opening. I’m interested to see how my perspective has changed and what new things I can learn the second time around.

So, there it is, that’s my plan. I will fall short of the mark, but I’ve made the mark and that, in and of itself, is a great start for change, for understanding and for discernment.

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 1.75 miles, 30 min. (17 min/mi) according to my new personal workout assistant, Nike + iPod (I LOVE having a son that works at Nike, I get ALL the cool stuff!)

~ by Kimberly Mason on February 27, 2009.

2 Responses to “President Obama & Me (Great Minds & Whatnot)”

  1. Instead of “waitin, waitin, waitin for the world to change” you’re drivin’ down the ROAD to change. Good stuff, all — it was an amazing speech, I liked his priorities (and yours), and I’m loving your snow photos (wasn’t it just GORGEOUS?). You might also try reading (when you finish The Scandalous Gospel) The Wisdom Jesus by Cynthia Bourgeault — best book I’ve read in that category.

  2. Cynthia Bourgeault also wrote “Chanting the Psalms” and I had already decided I need that one, but now I’ll just have to add The Wisdom of Jesus and totally immerse myself in Bourgeault! Thank you for the suggestion!!

Leave a Reply

 
