Making the Leap of Faith While Broken

28aleapofshane-2Yesterday I attended my first Power Vinyasa Yoga class. Today I hurt. It’s not a bad hurt, it’s a good hurt. The kind of hurt that says, “Wow, you really worked hard!”

But it still hurts and I’m not able to move too fast (or even too much), so I had to ask my son, Shane (the leap-er at left), to take my place today in the Leap of Faith. (That’s a self portrait, btw, don’t ask me how he does it, all I know is he’s awesome!)

“The next message you need is always right where you are.” -Ram Dass

Faith is a gift from God; a gift to the broken, the abused, the hungry and the poor. A gift to the rich, the hard-working, the talented and even to the intelligent. You don’t have to make a leap to grasp at faith, it is handed to you as a gift. So why am I leaping today?

I’m leaping for the joy I have in the faith I have been given. Despite brokenness and pain, I can still have joy. That, too, is a gift.

I love presents. Thanks be to God.

“When the pearl is cast down in the mud it does not become dishonoured the more, nor if it is anounted with balsam oil will it become more precious. But it has its worth in the eyes of its owner at all times.” -Philip the Gnostic, translated by R. Wilson. The Gospel of Philip

TODAY’S EXERCISE: None. Are you kidding me???

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 1, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
