“Forgiven: a Lenten Study” Accepted for Sacred Threads 2009

08forgivenI am absolutely beside myself with excitement! Out of a field of at least 650 entries, only 200 quilts were selected by jurors for Sacred Threads 2009, June 17 – 28, a “biennial exhibition of quilts. . .established to provide a safe venue for quilters of all faiths who see their work as a connection to the sacred and/or as an expression of their spiritual journey.”

My “Forgiven: a Lenten Study” quilt was accepted for the show (my “Out of the Darkness…” quilt, sidebar lower right, was not). I am doing a very funny Happy Dance. My first entry and my first acceptance into a juried quilt show. Woo Hoo!

Click on the picture if you would like to see a larger version. The following accompanied my entry for “Forgiven”:

Artist’s Statement: Father (the golden yellow sun), Son (the shining cross on the hill) and the Holy Spirit (the butterfly) are represented above the word that most amazes, inspires and heals me: Forgiven. Working through this quilt (and it’s two sisters quilts) was a healing experience that I am able to share with my family, my friends and my community. I am able to share myself, my love, my peace, hope and faith more fully because I am FORGIVEN.

Summary: Forgiveness is a gift from God that we do not deserve, that we cannot earn, and for which we could never repay – and yet, that gift is ours.

Sacred Threads 2009 will be held in Reynoldsburg, Ohio (a suburb of Columbus). Columbus, Ohio is definitely the place to be for quilters in June 2009. Other events of interest are the Quilt Surface Design Symposium, Quilt National and the National Quilters Association Annual Quilt Show.

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 8, 2009.

9 Responses to ““Forgiven: a Lenten Study” Accepted for Sacred Threads 2009”

  1. Gorgeous! Congratulations! I like how forgiveness is beautiful – it certainly feels beautiful.

  2. Congratulations! I live near there so if you let me know when it is I’ll go take a picture of it hanging for you.

  3. Congratulations Kim, what an honor.
    Robin

  4. I am SO PROUD OF YOU!!!!! It’s a gorgeous quilt, and totally deserving of the honor. YOU ARE AMAZING!

  5. I’m the only one in this world. Can please someone join me in this life? Or maybe death…

  6. Wanted to say hello
    Thanks!
    The Loan Consultants
    The Loan Consultants

  7. Hi.
    My computer worked not correctly, too much mistakes and buggs. Please, help me to fix buggs on my PC.
    My operation system is Windows XP.
    Thanks,
    Saulseimmetle

  8. Your welcome everyone,
    Can you help me to find most popular dating sites.
    On Tipe: http://www.yahoo.com/ please.
    Thanks,
    Sigengibe

  9. I’m so excited!!!! I just got my financial aid check today. I’m going back to schoool….soooo happy!

    You’ll never believe where I found the grant money!

    Obama School Grants

Leave a Reply

 
