Art in Heaven

16hintI began the practice of praying the Daily Office as a Lenten study. It is a practice I plan to continue. So, just as I feed my body four times a day, I now feed my spirit.

But I was having a bit of trouble with The Lord’s Prayer each time I came to it within the office. Why was it said four times each day? It  seemed repetitive. My prayer lacked any real feeling or understanding. I was rushing through the words.

I asked Rory, our St. Timothy resident expert (of many things), for help. Rory suggested a technique of reading through the prayer and through the Psalms slowly, using my breath, speak in a monotone and allow a phrase or word to “jump out at me.” And where the phrase or word “spoke” to me, stop. Think about it for a moment and let it sink in. Meditate on the word(s) until I felt ready to move on.

Last night “…art in heaven…” jumped out at me. Still does.

Yesterday I went to my first (their second) Art Quilt Group meeting at Ruby Street Quiltworks in Olympia. I am REALLY excited about the opportunity to meet with like-minded ladies and learn from them!

Oh, and in case you were wondering, the picture (above) is a hint at what I have been working on for Easter Sunday. I started it last year but was afraid it was too bright and bold for St. Timothy’s, so I put it away, unfinished. Oh boy was I ever wrong!! Easter morning is glorious at St. Timothy’s, it’ll take your breath away.

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 16, 2009.

One Response to “Art in Heaven”

  1. Hey Kim,
    I can hardly wait to see the enhancement for the Easter Sunday service at St. Timothy. I love your creativity and your challenging excitement for sharing your ingenuity! You’ve got a great spirit and are so willing to share. Keep it coming! Love, Nancy…hummm, am I number 1,2, or 3. Ah, who cares, I know I am among one of those.

Leave a Reply

 
