Something About Mary, a Most Highly Favored Lady

virginofvladimirLast Wednesday I began my study of Behold the Beauty of the Lord: Praying with Icons, by Henri J.M. Nouwen, with the contemplation of the icon of The Holy Trinity. Today the icon of the Virgin of Vladimir, the second icon of four, moves under my gaze and into focus.

This icon, also known as “Our Lady of Tenderness,” was painted by an anonymous Greek artist early in the twelfth century and is one of the most venerated of all Russian icons.

I haven’t spent enough time with this icon to have formed many impressions yet. I did, however,  find myself focusing on the child’s feet. I’m not sure what that’s about, maybe I’m just working my way up through the image.

Tomorrow, nine months before Christmas Day, the Church celebrates the message of the angel Gabriel to the Virgin and her acceptance of the role of Mother to our Lord.

I have been surprised (and yet, not surprised) that I seem to be surrounded by references to Mary, to the feminine divine, and the changing roles of women in the church. This is all so new to me, a bit much to try and take in all at once, but so appropriate since I am really gathering up steam to begin my “Mary Quilts” in earnest.

“Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with you. Blessed are you among women and blessed is the fruit of your womb, the Lord, Jesus Christ. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

TODAY’S EXERCISE: We took JessieDog to the vet. Wondering if the grumpy old lady was going to bite someone was enough to get my heart rate up for a while. ALSO, three Sun Salutations, a headstand and a 1 second Crow Pose.


~ by Kimberly Mason on March 24, 2009.

15 Responses to “Something About Mary, a Most Highly Favored Lady”

  1. I spent the weekend at a Bible study retreat where the topic was the changing roles of women and the feminine faces of God. It was affirming and comforting. I am eager to see your Mary quilts.

  2. I think that it is a very interesting and amusing article. Practically all its main points are true.

  3. I’m not that much of a internet reader to be honest but your sites
    really nice, keep it up! I’ll go ahead and bookmark your website to come back later on. Many thanks

  4. I’m impressed, I need to say. Genuinely rarely can i encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and
    without a doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. Your concept is outstanding; the issue is something that too small individuals are speaking intelligently about.
    I am quite pleased i always stumbled across this during
    my try to uncover something regarding this.

  5. Since the program is based on a real time world, users would not only be able to choose the weather of their choice but also the scenery.
    Nowadays with flight simulators you can have lots of fun out of these games and besides all this you do not have to spend thousands.
    Best of all, the basic version of this game is free. In order to compete for market shares on routes you
    must have a virtual airline management game account. Unfortunately, the series has
    been dormant for quite some time and there isn’t any indication that it will be returning anytime soon.

  6. Dont let the packaging fool you into buying something that may damage your hair.

    As well as in this article I am going to explain why and
    how to use it to cultivate hair – According to dermatologist Marianne ODonoghue its the
    most proven supplement for growing a prolonged mane.
    Read this article, and it will show you any steps and tips to block websites in Windows 8′s Hosts File.
    Ideally, prepare the day before dilution and in the evening, put the mixture in the
    palm of your hand and apply and hold your hair
    and scalp. Low self-esteem, hair fall, itching in scalp and facial skin infections are common side effects due to dandruff problems.

  7. Gojis are excellent for soothing a number of
    skin conditions to include eczema, psoriasis and skin allergies.
    Goji berry and weight loss are related because the berries directly attack both the causes of obesity and
    overweight thereby neutralizing much of their effects
    on human anatomy. insert – Before(ga, s) )() Totally free On the internet Posts Directory.

  8. Because i website owner I believe the articles obtain
    really good, regards for that efforts.

  9. Além disso, não é provável para os indivíduos para passar o tempo
    em academias e clubes de saúde por causa de seus compromissos profissionais.
    Portanto, é a sua preferência em à frente lugar
    para obter uma solução evidente e conveniente que é bom o suficiente para cumprir o seu finalidade sem afetar suas programações.
    Em tais condições, zilch poderia ser melhor do que Fort Max Diet.

  10. I have read so many content concerning the blogger lovers but this
    post is really a fastidious piece of writing, keep it up.

  11. Appreciation to my father who stated to me on the topic of this web site,
    this web site is truly awesome.

  12. It’s the best time to make some plans for the future and it’s time to
    be happy. I have read this post and if I could
    I want to suggest you some interesting things or suggestions.

    Perhaps you can write next articles referring to this article.

    I desire to read more things about it!

  13. Admiring the persistence you put into your blog and in depth information you
    offer. It’s good to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same outdated rehashed material.

    Excellent read! I’ve saved your site and I’m including your RSS feeds to my Google account.

  14. Good day! This is kind of off topic but I need some advice from an established blog.
    Is it difficult to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty quick. I’m
    thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Many thanks

  15. Make changes in your diet routine every now and then.
    Do some form of cardio for at least thirty minutes at least five days
    a week. Alcohol will also cause you to crave fatty, sugary junk foods – anyone who’s ever had the desire to consume burgers, kebabs or a big fry-up after a night out will attest to this fact.

Leave a Reply

 
