Nurturing Your Inner Creative Child, Your Feminine Divine & Your Wise Woman

It is Spring Break for Mossyrock Schools this next week. Break for who? I’m looking at my calendar and I see an activity (or three) for every day of the week.  And for every day of the next week, Holy Week.

27selfcareHoly cow.

When I began this Lenten season, I imagined 40+ days of study, contemplation, prayer and self-care. Then, of course, the Reality of Life imposed itself and my agenda shifted. Actually, my agenda didn’t just shift — it writhed, jumped, back-tracked, leaped ahead, moved over, fell behind and, in some places, fell over.

But it is what it is and it is what it is supposed to be.

Today I invite you to join me in a selfish, self-giving celebration of our Selves.  Take the time today to plan for a day (or even just an hour) of self care and nurturing. I believe in the three-pronged approach:

  1. Your Inner Child deserves to be taken out for a hot fudge sundae and matinee, a bike ride and a Popsicle, or even a game of Go Fish and a Mudslide (depending upon the legal age of your Inner Child).
  2. Your Feminine Divine self would love a hot, scented bath, a good romance novel and candlelight. (Or you can leave out the “scented bath, a good” and “novel” and really treat yourself.)
  3. Then you can pamper the Wise Spiritually-Centered Woman with a cup of hot cocoa (or glass of wine), a warm bed and a restful night’s sleep on the soft pillow of your Clear Conscience (unless you left the bath and novel out of step two – then you just sleep with a smile).

What will you do to care for your Self?

“To keep the body in good health is a duty. Otherwise we shall not be able to keep our mind strong and clear.” -Buddha

TODAY’S EXERCISE: Three sun salutations, a headstand and a nap book study group.

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 27, 2009.

14 Responses to “Nurturing Your Inner Creative Child, Your Feminine Divine & Your Wise Woman”

  1. Wow, I’m already on task – except I had Otis Spunkmeyer cookies & new bras from Victoria’s secret instead of the hot fudge sundae & matinee. Of course I need to go get groceries, so I’ll have a bit of a break in the “me” day, but then a bath tonight sounds divine!

  2. Woo Hoo! There’s ONE smart cookie, are there any more?

  3. Let’s see…dinner with my best friend tonight with lots of giggling and wine, nice soaking bubble bath (just got some new Bath & Body Works smellies) and a new Nora Roberts on my nightstand.

    The steps may be a little out of order but I think I can do it!!

  4. Oooo! I left “giggle” off the list, good idea!

  5. Really, truly rest.

  6. …forgot to say “I am glad I was here to enjoy this post. Thank you.”

  7. You are so welcome!

  8. Such good advice. I love to listen to Shaina Noll’s music, too. “Songs for the Inner Child” and “You Can Relax Now” nurture me and celebrate those selfish, stolen moments that I use for recharging.

  9. This weekend it won’t work but next weekend I am all over this with 3 friends in Phoenix for a long weekend of giggles and pj days. Lemon Drops will surely work their way in too. Time with old friends is the best way I know to rejuvinate myself and come home to my world ready to grett whatever comes my way.

  10. I went directly to iTunes and downloaded Shaina Noll’s “Angels Watching Over Me.” Oh wow, I don’t know how I didn’t know it when I chose it, but it’s an oldie but a goodie (revamped and restyled, of course) and I had a great time singing along with her on my way down to yoga class. Thank you!!

    Robin, I’m jealous!!! Make sure you throw down a lemon drop in my honor, I’ll be there in that moment in girl powered spirit.

  11. Thank you for making a kind comment on my blog, for creating this beautiful blog, and having some much needed humor on the path. love and peace to you. becca

  12. OMGoodness, Becca Stevens has visited my blog, I’m completely star struck! Now if Anne Lamott stops by I will know that either Jesus is on His way down to meet us or I’m on my way up to see Him. Good Heavenly Days! (as Gma Frazier would have said)

  13. Well, I count myself lucky to be in comment company with Becca! And I am here to thank you for leaving a kind comment on my blog as well.

    Reading your post about Lenten intensions being washed away in the tide of life makes me wonder if what really needs to be about is paying attention. Life is going to happen and things are going to come up and surprises will filter into our days without prior consent. Being available to all of that and seeing the gifts and grace they hold may be the most holy effort we can make during this season. I don’t know, I’m just thinking out loud here.

    Glad to find you (through Diane) as well, and especially grateful for the quilting connection. One of these days I hope to resurrect that part of my life.

  14. well, LMH (Lord have mercy) I really do know how to spell–that should be “intentions” above, and there’s a word missing later in the sentence. I invite one and all to imagine the post as it was intended to be!

Leave a Reply

 
