I See the Face of Jesus in You

thesaviorofzvenigorodToday, in my study in Behold the Beauty of the Lord: Praying with Icons by Henri J.M. Nouwen, I move on to the icon of the Savior of Zvenigorod.

When I first gazed into the eyes of this icon I have to admit I felt more confusion than relationship. And now, as I type those words, I am amazed at the truth I find in those words.

Relationship with Christ often begins in confusion. It is an understanding that develops over time. It takes time to tune your ear to hear His voice. It takes time develop a way of seeing the Christ within all God’s people — especially those we doubt could ever reflect His love and sacrifice. And it takes time to reflect that love and to perfect our lives in sacrifice.

I thank God that there is joy in the journey to understanding. Sometimes it seems that the path beneath our feet is dry, joy has been driven out of our lives and our childish cry of “Are we there yet?” goes unheard and unanswered. But even in sorrow we find joy in the journey.
___________________________________

29austinAfter church Sunday, Nancy S., Krista and I met with the Family Readiness Group coordinators for our deployed local National Guard Unit, Denise and Carol, and Carol’s mother, Helen, and her son, Austin.

Helen, Austin and Carol (to the left) are shown posing with Austin’s comfort quilt, made by our Spice Girls Quilts of Valor Corp in honor of their service. Austin is a striking young man, determined and gracious. I am proud to have met him.

29deniseDenise, shown right, holding her granddaughter’s comfort quilt, discovering the pictures on the back.

I so enjoyed getting to know everyone at little better. I also enjoyed a lovely lunch (thank you, Miss Nancy S.!). I hope that the friendships continue to develop.

To Denise and Carol: Thank you for your service. I see the face of Jesus in you.

~ by Kimberly Mason on March 31, 2009.

2 Responses to “I See the Face of Jesus in You”

  1. What a lovely and thought provoking post. I am pondering the deepening of my relationship with Christ, thank you for your words today, I have seen his face all around me!

  2. Last month I had the privilege of participating in an icon-writing workshop, an experience that transformed not only my experience of icons, but my relationship with Mary. Where once icons themselves confused me, they now invite me into the multi-layered relationships that engage our spirituality. This one of Christ used to send me packing. Now I see his patience, his passion, his love and his own invitation to enter more deeply into the kingdom of God.

    Thank you for posting this so that I might wander that journey a bit today and be reconnected to mysteries I had forgotten.

Leave a Reply

 
