My New Purse: I Carry My Sisters with Me Wherever I Go

03pursecollageAh, finally! My new purse makes its debut.

Diane – the “ZEN” is in honor of you, for the peace, the poetry and the mindfulness.

The picture on the pocket is, as always, my Mom (gorgeous gal on the right end). I love telling people “that’s my Mom!”

Linda & Robin – I used squares from the mini Moda Sonnet gift packs that Linda gave to Robin and I during a Spice Girls Quilts of Valor work day. I’m still glad we’re all so broken. :O)

Bobbie, at Sister’s Fabrics, inspired the “sister” lettering. Her shop is where I purchase the bulk of my batiks and she is always willing to help me make design or thread choices, find templates and be of general good support. The Kaffe Fassett fabrics featured front and back are from her current phenomenal selection of fabrics. The fact that she is open on Sunday makes shopping nearly a religious experience.

This purse is also serving as the palette for my Mary Quilts that I have planned. I will take it shopping with me. Thank you, Bonnie Jean, for providing the book that sent me searching. I’m glad that I have another Mary fan to help me through the project.

All y’all else have your names penned in ink between the quilting lines underneath the “quilted sister”. You are a steady radiance that lights my path, all of you.

“God does not die on the day when we cease to believe in a personal deity, but we die on the day when our lives cease to be illuminated by the steady radiance, renewed daily, of a wonder, the source of which is beyond all reason.” -Dag Hammarskjold

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 3, 2009.

7 Responses to “My New Purse: I Carry My Sisters with Me Wherever I Go”

  1. Your new purse is nothing short of spectacular! Thank you for sharing it.

  2. It’s wonderful in every aspect, from every angle. Well done!

    I want a purse that brings peace. 😉

  3. I love it! I’m feeling a wee bit jealous…

  4. It’s absolutely gorgeous– and I am honored to be a part of it!

  5. I love the idea of “carrying my sisters wherever I go!” And how great that the names of your sisterhood are a part of your bag. I’m of a mind to consider creating one myself (if I can ever clear a space to set up the machine and lay out some fabric!). Great job on both bags!

    Look for an email later today. I’m off to church shortly!

  6. Holy cow! This is incredible, Kim! I so want to touch it and turn it inside out. Absolutely wow.

  7. What an amazing piece of art. You should be so proud. I’m thrilled your sharing this with us all.

Leave a Reply

 
