A Private Journey in Community

pentecost_1-1I haven’t posted since Holy Week began.  I’ve been busy, yes, but mainly I’ve been traveling this journey through Holy Week alone, privately, in my own faith community.

I also haven’t posted since I began the contemplation of this icon: pentecost_4-1The Descent of the Holy Spirit (shown here in a few of its many versions). I almost feel as though this icon has me under a spell. Normally I’m full of thoughts and words and deeds – some done, some undone (a small, inside Episcopalian joke). This week, not so much. Holy Week, thus far, has felt more like floating through an experience rather than an accomplishment of separate acts.

Holy Week traditionally begins with Palm Sunday, pentecost_3-1though it didn’t really start for me until Monday evening at the performance of Messe Solennelle de Saint Cecilia (composed by Charles Gounod of Ave Maria fame) by a local community group of singers, the Cascade Community Chorus, under the direction of our own church choir director, Nancy Totman. Their moving performance set the tone for my journey — a serious tone of gentle beauty and honest contemplation; a worshipful study of God’s power and sacrifice, grandeur and humility, great love and great wisdom. A perfect introduction to my experience of Holy Week.

I am blessed to be a part of such a giving community of believers.pentecost_2-1 Who is in your community? What is your community’s center of focus? What is the mood or the spirit of your community? What are the needs of your community? Is your community ready and able? Are YOU ready and able and focused and full of the Spirit? What are your needs? What are you doing to bring a sense of peace into your community? How do you work to bring peace into your own life? Are you living your life in a full and wondrous appreciation of the gifts that God has given you? How do you share yourself, your gifts and the love God has given you with your community? What are you waiting for?

I wish you peace.

“If you see good in people, you radiate a harmonious loving energy which uplifts those who are around you. If you can maintain this habit, this energy will turn into a steady flow of love.” -Annamalai Swami

TODAY’S EXERCISE: More church pew aerobics!

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 10, 2009.

2 Responses to “A Private Journey in Community”

  1. Holy Week can be so exhausting. The stripping of the altar always leaves me in tears. Don’t know why it affects me that way.

    Your posts nearly always make me think. Really good questions in this one.

  2. I am struggling (internally) with my community right now. We had pathetic attendance at HW services (7 at MT????). A family of three attended all three and said yesterday that they were blown away, and now wouldn’t miss those services in future years. So where was everyone else? Where are the people who complain all the time? How do I challenge them with the hard and necessary questions without sounding like I’m scolding? (Actually I think I have an answer for that–the question is, will they be in church to hear the questions that need to be asked?) I am frustrated.

    Fortunately there are a handful of faithful souls that help maintain some kind of balance. Now if we can just tip the scales…

Leave a comment