The Beauty of Easter Day

12eastermain

A beautiful week of worship. A beautiful hall of worship. A beautiful people of worship.

“We must learn to reawaken and keep ourselves awake, not by mechanical aids, but by an infinite expectation of the dawn.” -Henry David Thoreau

Dawn did indeed arrive at St. Timothy’s Sunday morning.12altarclose And dawn arrived in my experience of God too, though I am still contemplating the dawn and am not yet ready to talk about it. In the meantime, look at the beautiful people and the beautiful places.

To truly appreciate the splendor that is the Holy Saturday and the Easter morning altar, you would have to have to attended the somber and moving Maundy Thursday service with “the stripping of the altar.” My mother and her Altar Guild work hard most of Saturday, polishing and preparing the altar for it’s glorious debut. So beautiful.

My 12churchdoorsbannerAlleluia Easter banner greeted guests at the door. I started this banner last year, intending to have it ready for Easter morning, but the closer I got to having it finished, the more I worried that it was too bright, and too odd and just too much for our quiet, conservative church. Silly me. I didn’t know that this church was capable of exploding into a riotous celebration of our risen Lord. I surely do now!

My granddaughter, Dad, Mom, daughter Tara, Me, Father T. and my sweet EmmaEmma, was baptized on Saturday night, Easter Eve. Pictured, at left, is my Dad, Mom, daughter Tara, Me, Father T. and my sweet granddaughter, Emma, in front.  It was a very beautiful service, more beautiful people, and a beautiful God with us. (If only there had been a more beautiful, and more appropriately dressed, me.)

Oh, and speaking of appropriately dressed! 12sttimsmafiaThere were several ladies wearing their Easter bonnets on Sunday, but I couldn’t resist getting a picture of two of our most handsome gentlemen in theirs. This is David (aka Santa Claus) and our own Father T., looking dapper — and looking quite a bit more intimidating than the Father Christmas and a priest perhaps should. The St. Timothy’s Mafia.

What a wonderful, humor-filled church family I have.

“Real life isn’t always going to be perfect or go our way, but the recurring acknowledgement of what is working in our lives can help us not only to survive but surmount our difficulties.” -Sara Ban Breathnach

TODAY’S EXERCISE: Avoiding the rain, watching wicked “Deperate Housewives” reruns with Big Man, making good food for my two favorite men, reading, smiling, enjoying.

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 13, 2009.

One Response to “The Beauty of Easter Day”

  1. I adore your banner, it’s marvelous; and PERFECT! Alleluia indeed!

Leave a Reply

 
