Gimme 5 Friday: Five Random (Perhaps Revealing) Facts

You didn’t ask for it, but here they are anyway, 5 random (perhaps revealing) facts about me. 16viewThey are in no particular order nor are they of any particular interest to anybody in particular. Just me being who I am (for today) and being that boldly (mostly) and randomly (always).

  1. I love Soccer and as a teenager I was a Runner for the Seattle Sounders professional soccer team, working on the field at the Kingdome. I’ve met the great Pele. I was the first female certified referee in King County (30 years ago). My boyfriend was the leading scorer on a Premier team whose left fullback was drafted to the New York Cosmos team for a (then) unheard of cool $1 million. I coached a soccer (and baseball) when my boys were young and was named “Boys Coach of the Year” for Lewis County.
  2. I would like to join a Religious Order. Although Marty wonders why I “can’t just go see Jesus on Sunday and call it good”. LOL
  3. I had La Mancha dairy goats. One realized portion of my dream to lead a somewhat self sufficient lifestyle. We had two does, Bliss and Echo. Bliss loved to stalk my dogs, she’d sneak up on them while they were laying down in the field resting under the summer sun and then WHAM, run them over. I could swear I heard her giggling. Echo gave birth to two or three kids each year, but usually had trouble. So, yes, I’ve had my arm inside a goat uterus, up to my elbow, twice.
  4. I’m the product of a Mixed Marriage. My dad is from the Ozarks of Missouri and mother is a Southern Belle from Hope, Arkansas. When Momma met Daddy, he was a Jet Jockey with a red Corvette. What woman alive can resist that combination? Now Daddy is retired airline pilot with a Yukon Denali. Still a killer combo, eh Mom?
  5. I have held live Hummingbirds in my hands so many times I can’t count. Before Marty fixed a window pane on the door to our back porch, hummingbirds used to fly in and not be able to get out. I would have to catch and release them. It was AWESOME, each and every time, like an intimate encounter with God.

“If we don’t change, we don’t grow. If we don’t grow, we are not really living. Growth demands a temporary surrender of security.” –Gail Sheehy

TODAY’S EXERCISE: Listening.

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 17, 2009.

One Response to “Gimme 5 Friday: Five Random (Perhaps Revealing) Facts”

  1. I always enjoy these random sharings. It’s interesting to learn more about people, and some of the really fascinating stuff is in the details. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

 
