A Collection of Collects & Bunnies Living Dangerously

There are so many things about the Episcopal church in which I have fallen deeply and delightfully in love. 21babybunnyI am especially fond of the collects (pronounced with the emphasis on the first syllable: kol´ekt). Collects, simply stated, are short, written prayers. Nothing new to many of you, but to me, it’s a whole new world of poetry and prose and prayer. If you have a circumstance, a need, a holiday, a day of the week, a hope, an event or an anything – there is a collect for it.

Yesterday, while chasing an errant baseball into the orchard, Marty happened to spot this tiny baby bunny in his nest. He called to me to come quickly and grab the camera. “What should we do?” he asked, “What if Buddy [our dog] finds it? He’ll eat the poor little guy.”

Now, Marty and I are (mostly) full grown adults with a (mostly) realistic view and understanding of the cruelties and hardships that rabbits face. And while we aren’t actively seeking the death of all the garden-robbing bunnies in the area, neither are we encouraging the proliferation of the little lettuce munchers. It’s a tough situation. The little kit is as cute and as helpless as it could be. It breaks my heart with it’s beauty, but what can I do?

My mind came back to this collect, for the stewardship of creation:

“O merciful Creator, your hand is open wide to satisfy the needs of every living creature: Make us always thankful for your loving providence; and grant that we, remembering the account that we must one day give, may be faithful stewards of your good gifts; through Jesus Christ our Lord, who with you and the Holy Spirit lives and reigns, one God, for ever and ever. Amen.”

The collect doesn’t solve the situation, I know. It doesn’t take away my sadness or make the bunny any safer. No matter how hard I pray, I seriously doubt that this little bunny will be magically shielded from harm by the power of a divine miracle.  What this prayer does do, however, is remind me that God is with me, in me and for me (and the bunny), in peace, in mercy and in loving guidance and care. That’s one of the beauties of the collect.

And in the meantime, we’re walking with Buddy when he goes outside, taking him in the other direction. Hopefully we will have distracted him from following our trail into the orchard long enough for our trail scent to have dissipated and his interest in following it to wane. It’s not much, but it’s all I’ve got. I just hope the barn owls didn’t overhear anything…

TODAY’S EXERCISE: 1.99 miles, up Thistlehill and down and around twice.

~ by Kimberly Mason on April 21, 2009.

3 Responses to “A Collection of Collects & Bunnies Living Dangerously”

  1. Precious photo, that little bunny already has plenty of natural predators excluding Buddy. Your prayer was perfect, and hopefully, enough!

  2. Thank you for this post, friend. It was just what I needed to read this morning.

  3. This is a beautifully written post which really touched me!

Leave a Reply

 
